BibMe – Creates You Bibliography Automatically

Have you been using those “fill in the blank spaces” generators?

By “fill in the blank,” I mean those like the Harvard, which makes you manually add information. Do you remember? Are you cringing at the thought?

If so, you can empathise with how tedious it is –finding the publisher, the year published, the editions, etc. This wouldn’t be such a bad thing, except that you’ve got over 15 sources (which is me every-time) and it’s not exactly “boring” or “time-wasting” but done so many times it’s not funny.

That’s where BibMe comes in.

I first discovered it in eighth grade: which is just as well because that’s when my essays began. Handed to me every term and on subjects I forget the minute I pen them down.

Unlike other manual generators, it’s automatic. Enter “Google” and it has everything down for you: the date you accessed it (today), the page title, website title, authors (if any are found), etc. Note that sometimes this data isn’t correct –or the site has trouble phasing an URL– so it’s worth checking over. But it’s still better than manually inserting information.

You will need to sign up to create a bibliography, but that’s an extremely small price to pay. Registration is completely free of charge and spam.

There was actually a time where I left my source sheet at home (on the day my essay was due) and simply hopped on the internet, accessed BibMe, and copied and pasted it. Yes, all the sources are stored on your account. This, I think, is a wonderful feature.

It lets you cite sources like the following without you worrying about the correct formatting.

  • Websites
  • Books
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Journals
  • Films
  • Interviews
  • Lectures
  • Radio/TV
  • Encyclopedia
  • Photographs

Quite possibly, it’s one of the best things I’ve discovered. It makes sourcing essays so much more easier.

Try it now at:

http://www.bibme.org/

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

