8 Pop Songs I Consider My “Guilty Pleasure”

I pride myself on being an alternative rock/indie person.

Actually, this isn’t much of a confession, because I do generally dislike pop music. But sometimes there are special ones –perhaps those which bring back a lot of memories? I tend to love them.

They’re really nostalgic. Pop songs overrule the radio without discussion. There’s no competition; it’s either pop, R&B, punk, etc. Friends, family, memories and good times. It’s actually impossible to be sad while listening to pop music.

Without further ado, here’s my list:

1. I Want It That Way – Backstreet Boys

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EylafK1IwHE]

COMMENT: It’s impossible not to feel a little nostalgic when hearing this song. I have no idea where I heard it first, but I know this is familiar. And because of this, I love this song so much.

2. You Get What You Give – Glee

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CN9oLsNq6-Q]

COMMENT: No words can describe how much I dislike Glee (no offence to those who do) but their covers, I think, are pretty good. In fact, I did not hate their cover of Coldplay’s “The Scientist,” which is strange because nothing even comes close to the original.

They’re not bad singers, really; just stuck in awful, cliche and melodramatic plot-lines.

3. I Got You – Leona Lewis

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfeo_QkiBEA]

COMMENT: My entire Year 9 Term 1/2 Assignment was done listening to this song. Indie songs/alternative songs distract me. I needed something which didn’t distract me from the assignment, but wasn’t awful enough I couldn’t listen to. And thus, this song was played. Repeatedly.

4. Lights Off – Jay Sean

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yV4gKbfk34]

COMMENT: Reminds me of my Primary School years. I started NaNoWriMo the year I found that song, so it’s always going to be special to me. Also, I believe it’s the best pop song (music wise) I’ve ever heard. It’s impossible to dislike it (unless, of course, you really hate pop…)

5. War – Jay Sean

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_EFg5QV86A]

COMMENT: My cousin first introduced me to this song. To Jay Sean, actually. It’s such a wonderful song because of his voice. And I can actually disregard the fact it’s pop, because the melody itself is dramatic/not fully pop-like.

6. Cooler Than Me – Michael Posner

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YR3kSvlZ20]

COMMENT: It’s an awfully catchy song. I mean the “awfully” part fully; the rapping sucks, there aren’t any memories associated, but it’s just so catchy. Also, I like some of the lyrics. My favourite line: “You’re so vain you probably think this song is about you.” Ugh, I hate myself for liking this.

7. Here’s to The Heartbreakers – Katy Allistar 

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCPY21oLE-4]

COMMENT: This girl has the most beautiful voice. It’s innocent, chidlike yet strong exactly when she needs it. I first discovered it when I visited a friend, found her on Facebook, and she clicked on a song one of her Facebook friends posted. We both liked her voice and the song tune in general. Also, it’s not sappy.

8. Dynamite – Taio Cruz

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLqdRmwY6vc]

COMMENT: No memories associated with this one. And the tune isn’t half-bad. But the main reason I like it is because of the parodies. I throw my homework in the bin sometimes/Saying Ayy-ohh/I’ll just faay-oll.” There are also other humourous ones like this. And very overplayed on the radio.

*

That concludes my list of pop music I have secret guilty pleasures for. I’d be seriously judged (by myself) if I admitted them too openly.

*blasts more of The Fray’s music*

3 thoughts on “8 Pop Songs I Consider My “Guilty Pleasure”

  1. Nice list! The small amount of pop music I listen to is generally because I have memories associated with them, as well. OMG, I remember “I Want It That Way!” Dang, that’s a pretty old one, haha. And I remember Mike Posner (I, embarrassingly, bought this song and it’s currently residing in my iPod >.<) and Leona Lewis, but I've never heard those particular songs. Ooh, and Jay Sean and Taio Cruz. The only songs I've heard by Jay Sean, though, are "Down" and "2012." I also have "Dynamite."

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

