5 Weird Things About Me

The original question was “weird things I like.” But everything I found was quite explanatory and, like my personality, boring. So I rephrased the question.

I don’t really consider myself “wacky” or “quirky” as many others do. In fact, I have full reason to believe I’m the most boring person roaming this planet: doesn’t travel, always sitting at the computer, reading books, writing stories nobody reads, etc.

But I suppose there are certain –lowers voice– abnormalities about me.

1. I can’t stand fingernails running down silk –my own or anybody else’s. 

I can’t pinpoint when this silk-hating began. From quite a young age (say, 7) my mother’s pink floral silk bed-covers have haunted me. I hate how it feels under my nails, I hate anybody else running their nails down silk.

Strangely, however, I don’t have a problem with chalkboards. I mean, I wince and everything, but it’s nowhere near my hatred for silk.

2. Math inspires me.

Mum thinks this’ll change in senior years, when the really difficult stuff comes around. And I probably won’t be good at math anymore. I’m still confident I’ll always love the subject.

It speaks to me (for now, anyway). Even if it doesn’t, I’ll always be fascinated and inspired. Everything falls into a number pattern, the formula mathematicians created through trial and error, the amount of dedication it takes to create something this revolutionary: inspiring is an understatement.

There’s something comforting about numbers. They will never change every decade (English) or lose significance if they’re minor (History). They’re permanent. They’re the same in every language. What’s not to love?

3. I’ve always been obsessed with the sound of rain.

In fact, I lie in bed everyday hoping it’ll rain. It’s just so much easier to sleep with such a comforting sound in the background. And, almost every night in this drought-stricken country known as Australia, I am disappointed.

So I have a newfound obsession with “RainyMood.” I can listen to it forever, write to it, put other instrumental msuic in the background (it sounds so pretty!) and just relax. It’s so perfect.

4. I think human hearts are the most underrated, wonderful things. 

Everybody has a heart. Me, you, the entire world of the living. Insects, mammals, amphibians, etc. And all these hearts, they beat for us involuntarily.

They don’t suddenly stop when they’re angry with you, they love you enough to keep you going through the night and helps you through the day.

The only time they fail, however, is when they’re old. They grow like us, they’re just as weak, but they try their best. Sometimes they fail earlier. Sometimes it’s nobody’s fault.

But they never lose their beauty.

5. When people speak, I just hear music in my head.

Sometimes, people will say something, and all I can hear is instrumental music. They won’t get an answer; I’ll get them to repeat it. Again, that music returns. I discreetly tap my fingers to the rhythm, that person thinks I’m deaf.

I’m working on it. Kind of. I’ve gotta stop listening to the rain so much…

*

  1. Five things you look for in friends.
  2. Something you feel strongly about.
  3. Your favourite television program.
  4. Your favourite season and why.
  5. What you hope your future would be like.
  6. How important you think your education is.
  7. Your five favourite songs of the moment.
  8. Five weird things about you.
13 thoughts on “5 Weird Things About Me

  1. Pingback: Somewhere I’d Like to Visit | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Pingback: My Favourite Disney Princess and Why | Ramisa the Authoress

  3. Pingback: Top Five Dream Jobs | Ramisa the Authoress

  4. Pingback: My Favourite Subject to Study and Why | Ramisa the Authoress

  5. Pingback: 4 Things that Make Me Laugh | Ramisa the Authoress

  6. Pingback: Someone Who Fascinates Me and Why | Ramisa the Authoress

  7. Pingback: A Quote I Live By | Ramisa the Authoress

  8. Love your little posts and your photos are amazing! You have a really cute personality. While I don’t hear instrumental music when others speak I do get these really vivid scenes that pop into my head a random. Of course, I come to with a person blinking back at me like they are waiting for me to reply! Cheers.

    • Aww, thank you! A cute personality? *blushes*
      Vivid scenes at random? I think that’s so wonderful –I wish I could do that! Unfortunately, though, I’m always stuck in the present. 😛 (But with background music, of course 😉 )
      Thank you for stopping by! 😀

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

