Liebster Award

A huge thank-you to Emma who nominated me for this award. Her book reviews, writing and overall blogging is impeccable. Don’t believe me? Check her out for yourself!

Also, the Liebster Award rocks. I learn so much about other people by reading them (I’ve seen them around, but haven’t been nominated until now) and it’s such a wonderful opportunity to express myself. Thank you, Emma! 😀

You got the Award, now what?

  1. I will list 11 random facts about myself.
  2. I will answer the 11 questions asked of me by the person who nominated me.
  3. I will then nominate my 11 picks for the award along with my 11 questions for them to answer when they post a response.
  4. if you’re nominated, your name/link will appear at the bottom of this post along with your questions. Follow the same format, i.e. paste the award badge to your blog, give us 11 random facts about yourself, answer my 11 questions, and choose your nominees…but you cannot nominate the blog who nominated you.

11 Random Facts About Me

1. When I save a file on my computer (writing, especially) I always give it a gibberish name such as “adjajdajodsaojds” or “aldapojsdaksdkj.” I never search for files by title, but instead, I search for a sentence or two found in the Word Document. Me? Lazy? Of course not!

2. I hate the “attack” approach many people think works. [I want to run for the President of the United States. Ooh, I know! I’ll just badmouth my opponent so he looks bad enough. The election will favour my way, then. Who cares about improving myself? I’ll just drag them down and use my immature ways to rule the world.] (Just a metaphorical statement; any resemblance to real life is purely coincidental).

3. Recently, I’ve developed a newfound addiction to Tumblr. It’s the simplest/laziest way to Blog –it’s perfect. My Tumblr link: http://midnightaria.tumblr.com/Are you also a Tumblr-user? Leave your link in the comments’ section and I’ll be sure to follow it!

4. My favourite instrumentals at the moment are Last Carnival and Theme of Tears. I have an obsession with instrumental music. In fact, they’re what inspire me for my books –I prefer them over worded music, because the feelings are my feelings, not the effect of the words. You know? The City Is Silent was inspired by this song. I imagined a girl sitting alone, a young girl, and I imagined the majority of the story from there onward.

5. I’m a city-girl. The big buildings, the flashing lights, the starless skies. The smell of smog, of busy people and superficial relationships. I feel as if that’s where I belong, even though that’s an unpopular choice. Wide open skies and large grasslands do nothing for me. Now, anyway. I’m always changing my mind.

6. My 2012 goal for writing is to write an novel of each these genres: horror, historical fiction, fantasy and science fiction. I have a brief idea of each of them, since there’s a instrumental music to go with their plots. But I’ve never written any stories of that sort, so I’m really excited!

7. I’m love setting goals. When it comes to fulfilling them, however, I’m not always sucessful. Still, I feel some strange surge of accomplishment everytime I set a goal, so  continue to carry on this endless routine. Whether it’s learning new words, doing more math equations, working out problems, etc… I suppose I love the idea of it all.

8. I’m write this from the State library, as I’ve recently moved houses (and schools) and don’t have internet access at home. My awesome new school, however, allows access to WordPress. Maybe within lunch-breaks I’ll update this Blog (occasionally, of course).

9. My novel, The City Is Silent, is more than halfway complete. I plan on writing 2,000 words, and I’ll be on track. I do have a lot of schoolwork beforehand, since I’ve lost a week at the beginning (shifting houses) and need to catch up. But I’m not complaining. I’d rather be busy than not at all.

10. This new school of mine is academically demanding. I do love this, because it means my OP years (11 and 12) won’t be difficult, seeing as I’ve done it all before. But as a current tenth grader who’s moved from a school where Year 10’s considered a “junior” class and not senior, it’s a huge jump. A leap I appreciate.

11. My current subjects at my new school are: Math B, Philosopy and Reasoning, Health, English, Science, ICT (Computers). My favourite subjects are Math B, Philosophy and Reasoning, English and Health. Coincidentally, those are the subjects I’m all caught up on: I still have ICT (Computers) and Science to catch up on, once I receive my laptop. It’s a little late since I came here late. Still, it’s fun to think the stress-free ones are those I’m enjoying most.

*

Emma’s 11-Questions Asked:

1. What is your favorite classic work of fiction?

Among the classics, I’ve read To Kill A Mockingbird and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. I’ve never been much of a classics person because the sentences are long, drag on, and I prefer to-the-point writing (being a mth person and all).

That said, I’m currently reading A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I was doing a reading comprehension test and the except was from that book, and, well, I fell in love with his style of writing. I’ll just rely on Sparknotes until classic literature actually makes sense to me.

2. Did you have a favorite stuffed animal? If so, what was their name. Tell us about it! If not, what was your favorite childhood toy while growing up?

Yes! Her name was Lilah, Lilah the colourful teddy bear, and I got her free of charge at an opening hospital back in New Zealand. She’s small, fits right into both hands, and the most cutest combination of baby blue, baby pink and purple. Either than that, I had many other stuffed animals, although I loved her the most.

3. What kind of stuff do you blog about on your blog?

General things. I love helping people, though, so most of my posts are about resources (for students, aspiring writers/artists, etc.) and I’m planning on flooding this blog with tips and guides about all kinds of general things. So even if I’m not exactly saving the world, I might help somebody out. 🙂

4. Have you ever been seriously injured, like breaking a few bones?

I’ve never broken a bone. Never have done things remotely reckless enough to do so. My idea of skateboarding (like a friend at my new school has accurately described) is standing on a board, spreading my arms out and pretending I’m moving at over 200 k/ph. No, I’m more of a office person.

5. What do you aspire to be in life?

In short, well, a lot of things! This post describes the kind of professions/careers I’d be interested in, while this one expands on general things. I don’t think I can provide new information in the current post.

6. Favorite drink.

I’ve got many, but sparkling apple juice is probably it! Think apple juice but like a soda drink and sour. It’s absolutely perfect. Oh, and I do love water (pure water, not the awful tasting ones in Queensland) and milk –especially when there’s powdered chocolate stirred into it.

7. What’s the most exhilarating thing you’ve done in your life?

I don’t like taking risks when I don’t have to. Actually, it depends. Sometimes I’ll join a talent-show and play the piano, even though that’s totally my choice. I love doing things like that, but the most exhilarating thing (a spelling word of mine this week!) would probably be standing up for myself. Anytime, anywhere. Going against the public opinion, making my own mistakes, etc. 

8. What do you think about taking risks?

I like making risks, but not blindly. You should never give a patient medication that’ll not help anything and can cause harm instead (seriously, why would you do that?) or put others in danger because of your own mistakes/choices. But risks are fantastic, wonderful things if done correctly. They can shape your entire life.

9. In one word, describe how you feel about soul mates.

Disbeliever. As my life passes by, I realise how demanding fairytales are: I don’t see life as a search for somebody who’s perfect for you, because, well, there’s not going to be. Not in my experience, anyway. Friends are much more valuable, family even more. These are people who know you, accept you and love you –soul-mates, although a very romantic and mystical idea, is something I’m ignorant/dismissive of.

10. Favorite television show and why.

My all-time favourite show would definitely be The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, because it’s flawless (except for the slow-pacing sometimes). Recently, I’ve gotten into Doctor Who and absolutely love it. The first few episodes were dreadful and then, bam, it’s absolutely brilliant. Science fiction, yet it focuses on a lot of reality as well. It’s the perfect combination.

11. Are you trying to change something in your usual routine? If so, what is it and why? If not, explain your reasoning.

In my usual routine, I wake up, go to school, come back home and sleep. I feel all my energy drained out because I’m concentrating a whole lot more, walking to school, running around in my enormous new school (has campuses on both sides of the road and, I kid you not, takes me 7 minutes at brisk pace to walk from one end to the other).

I want to get used to this routine so I can start writing again. And studying. And doing Mathletics, learning words and everything else I used to love before the awful shifting from the country to the city (I still have no stable internet access!)

Anyway, wish me luck on that. I’ll need it. Immensely.

Here are my nominees (in no particular order):

  1. Campion
  2. Zura
  3. Zen
  4. Jake Vander Ark
  5. Kalyen Dunleavy
  6. Megan Stephenson
  7. The Dark Angel
  8. cShowers
  9. Jill
  10. On Purpose (Blog Name)
  11. small house/BIG GARDEN (Blog name)

My Questions:

  1. When did you start Blogging, and for what reason? What influence does WordPress have on you?
  2. Name your favourite movie, television show and current favourite song. If you’d rather, you can name your all-time favourites too.
  3. Something you learned recently.
  4. Name three things that made you smile today (or laugh).
  5. Any guilty pleasures? (Cheesy songs, nose-wrinkle-worthy books, etc.)
  6. This is your space. This is your time. Pretend you’re the last human on Earth: what do you wish you could’ve done? (Becoming a journalist, being more nice to your friends who’re now six feet underground, etc.)
  7. What’s the weirdest YouTube video you’ve ever watched?
  8. Name one thing you can’t live without and what you’d endure in order to have it.
  9. Favourite subject in school? Or, if you’re out of school, a career path you always wish you explored.
  10. Google your symtoms at this current moment (slight headache, aching back, etc.) and give us the most deadliest condition associated with them.
  11. Describe yourself with a word beginning with the first letter of your name.

A huge thank-you to Emma, and I apologise for the late reply (didn’t have internet at home, and I kind of still don’t –I really temporarily do).

Have a wonderful day, Bloggers! 😀

– Ramisa ♥

9 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Remy! LOVED IT! 🙂 I am so happy that you love DW now! Eeep! And I so have to get on board with reading The City Is Silent. I’ve been so bad with keeping up with Wattpad in the last few months. So glad that you did it! You’re one of two people who actually did this! So THANK YOU! It was fun reading your responses!

    P.S. Lilah sounds uber cute! 🙂

  2. Remi!!! Arrrgghhh! Thank you so much for the award! haha I really want to do it, but I don’t even have that much of friends, let alone 11! I think I’ll pass on this one, but I’ll answer your questions as a thank you. ;D

  3. Pingback: Liebester Award (2) | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

