The City Is Silent Is Finally Completed!

The day I first started this blog (on the day before my birthday) is when I was still in progress with my book, The City Is Silent.

It was a contemporary, coming of age novel which circulated around a twelve-year-old girl who aspires to become an artist, but finds that she is unable to change her art tactics in order to survive in the arts. However, it’s through the progress of this story where she learns that, yes, change can destroy everything familiar, but there’s always a solution.

Because it never fitted into a genre, and because romance-loving Wattpadians generally don’t like stories circulating around a protagonist who is probably half a decade younger than them, The City Is Silent never got much publicity.

I may have very few readers, but they are the best ones. And this is what I wanted to do first: thank you so much for reading, commenting and supporting me along the way. Sometimes, the lack of support was depressing, but I was extremely passionate about this book which would never survive in the publishing industry due to lack of commercial appeal.

And so I wrote. And wrote. And wrote. Until yesterday, 11/5/2013, I completed the epilogue of The City Is Silent at 62,000 words approximately.

I have a fair bit of revision to do –some of the scenes fell flat, and I know exactly which ones from memory; typos and grammatical errors; character dialogue and development– and even then, it’ll be far from perfect. But perfection isn’t what I’m aiming for. If I get the story across to one person who remembers it, I’ll be forever happy.

As for my wonderful Blog-readers, who may be asking what The City Is Silent is about, I have a website made especially for The City Is Silent which will supply general information about the book.

The City Is Silent – The Offical Website [CLICK HERE]

Thank you to all those who’ve read the book, thank you to your wonderful comments and thank you for your support –I couldn’t have done it without my readers.

9 thoughts on “The City Is Silent Is Finally Completed!

  1. Congratulations. I can’t write a sentence without making a change to it but I guess (like anything) if you’re happy with it, that is the most important thing. However, to connect with others through your writing must be a huge measure of success.

  2. Just a quick question for you. Several times, I’ve clicked on The City is Silent to read, but I’ve always noticed that the tags for genre say Non-Teen fiction.
    I don’t generally read books in that category, and am wondering whether or not I can. So I guess I’m really wondering what made you classify it under Non-Teen Fiction, because it looks quite interesting.

    • Hello! First off, thank you so much for stopping by (and clicking on The City Is Silent) to read. πŸ˜€
      And as for the non-teen fiction, Wattpad didn’t have a “children” section (or a coming of age genre) so that’s why I chose non-teen and adventure instead.
      It’s one-hundred percent rated G! πŸ™‚

      • Ohh. Well that makes a lot more sense.
        I’ve been wanting to read it for a while, but I tend to avoid the genre of non-teen fiction.
        So….over to Wattpad I go!

  3. Congratulations Ramisa. I wish you all the very best. The novel sounds exceptional and I really hope it goes well for you. Keep doing what your doing, hard work pays off πŸ™‚ I’ve also given you a follow to keep up with your exciting new stories. Im a Student Film Maker and if you did have any screenplays or short stories you would love to bring to life, then we could work together and create a short film!

    • Dear Meera,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and your kind words on my novel!
      It is wonderful to discover aspiring film-makers! Perhaps this is because I’m not very “in touch” with the media world, but you will be the first aspiring film-maker I’ve ever come across. πŸ˜€
      And that sounds terrific! About the short film. If you’d prefer, I am happy to contact you via email. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for your reply. Yes, Im studying it right now and trying to just keep doing what I love (like you). Thats amazing to hear, that I’m the first and means alot! Im currently making a short film and am always on the look out to collaborate with people. I know you love writing and this would be a great opportunity! You can contact me via the ‘contact page’ on my blog. Look forward to hear from you. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment! They make my day. β™₯

