Should You Drink The Potion? [POEM]

Today I decided to be a little creative (even “little” is a lot for someone as unimaginative as me) and write a poem instead as a response to the Daily Prompt.

You encounter a mysterious man offering you a magic potion that, once sipped, will make one of your senses (sight, hearing, taste, smell, touch) super sharp — but dull the others. Will you sip it, and if so, what sense do you choose?

I encourage everybody to take part of it –Daily Prompt is where I get most of my Blogging inspiration from.

Anyway, the following poem is in the form of a narrative. Because I don’t want to scare you, I won’t offer comments on how badly you’ll cringe at this.

*

There was a caped man in the forest,
Mysterious man was he!
A hand on my shoulder, his dark eyes hover
Over the elixir offered to me.

“Drink this,” he whispers,
“And be defeated no more!”
“Hear every sound of nature,
See every sight to adore.”

What he fails to mention
Though I secretly know quite well
Is while a singular sense is magnified
The others shall blister and swell.

The choice is mine
A difficult one, it seems
Shall I claim infinite power?
Yet, at other times, fall weak on my knees?

His eyes shines like jewels
The darkest of the night,
And suddenly, I find the answer
Like streaming rays of light.

“No, thank you,” I offer, kindly
For I must have offended this man
And sure enough, his eyes narrow
Like I have ruined a malicious plan

“Whyever not?” he inquires,
Though he sounds ready to persuade,
Why this potion is nothing short of magnificent
And better than anything naturally made.

“Because no amount of magic
Can separate me from what I am
All of my senses, my features
Which separate me from them.”

“And by them, I mean others
Who believe the world is theirs
But drinking unidentified liquids
Will only end in tears.”

Although I feel I have been rude
The man gives a mocking yawn,
Angry, I start to reply
But in a whiff of smoke, he is gone.

– – –

That may be, well and truly, the worst poem ever written. I am rereading it and cringing. So I might as well just click submit before I rip this to shred.

And while I’m here, I’d like to give a shout-out to RhymingDictionary (the only reason I even got the first stanza done, let alone the whole poem). A poem I am not, and will most likely never be –unless I wake up tomorrow with magical abilities, which although unlikely, I won’t deem impossible.

Thank you for reading the world’s worst poem! I hope your eyes don’t require too much bandaging. Some of those phrases, I am afraid, cannot be unseen.

I apologise. 😦

6 thoughts on “Should You Drink The Potion? [POEM]

  1. Pingback: Natural Magic | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Wake Up Call | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: If I Was A Tree In The Forest… | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dulled | writinglikeastoner

  5. Pingback: On My Front Porch

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

