7 Instrumental Pieces I Fell In Love With (Part 3)

I suppose I can’t stop listening to instrumental music, no matter how much I try. I’ve lost interest in most of the things I used to enjoy; novel-writing, reading, watching television shows, etc. But for some reason, I still can’t stop listening to music. Maybe that’s the beauty of such expression; a feeling, like a snapshot, a dosage in approximately three minutes. What makes music so brilliant, especially instrumental music, is how I can engross in it anytime, anywhere.

Also, apparently instrumental/classical music is good for concentration (although I have no scientific evidence to prove to you; just internet rumour that may/may not be true). So if you are somebody who’s feeling restless or procrastinating, maybe putting on background music may help?

Anyway, this is my new list of “Top 7 instrumentals” and I doubt it’ll be the last. Again, it’s in no specific order.

1. Eternity by Yuriko Nakamura

Description: Recently discovered this (like, right now). But from a single listen, I think it’s brilliant. It has the full “orchestra effect.” And the melody itself is absolutely stunning. Definitely one of my favourites.

2. Good Night – Helen Jane Long

Description: Helen Jane Long is one of my favourite pianists. She takes simple beauty to a whole new level with her piano playing, which rarely contain heavy influences of other instruments, and remains simple. Good Night is one of my top three instrumentals from her.

3. Dreams and Starlight by David Nevue

Description: You know how there is music that just speaks to you? This one, along with Song for Viola by Peter Bradley Adams are songs I may never get over; I can listen to them forever and still feel as if it’s the first time. There’s something about the song, so hopeful yet strangely sinister, which appeals to me:


4. The Lonely Ballerina by Michele McLaughlin

Description: This song sounds like those melodies you hear on Christmas Day (I don’t celebrate Christmas… so those found in movies?) But it takes an isolated, sorrowful melody instead. Using a classical, familiar piece as a base, “The Lonely Ballerina” is a hauntingly beautiful instrumental, similar to that of a music box.

5. Arrival of the Birds by The Cinematic Orchestra

Description: A slow-paced but breathtaking instrumental piece. Like the artist’s name suggests, they are, indeed, an orchestra. Their music is uplifting, brilliant and beautiful and the same time; rich with colour and appealing to senses, Arrival of the Birds is my favourite piece (thus far) by the artist.

6. Do You by Yiruma

Description: I am sure I’ve mentioned this before, but Yiruma is the reason I found a passion for instrumental music. It was his piece The River Flows In You which lured me. The song I have chosen is a rather upbeat and happy song; extremely calming, too.

7. The Last Carnival Norihiro Tsuru

Description: Happy but haunting, the song centers around (I assume) a carnival –cheerful, lively and full of laughter– and the bittersweet realisation this will be the last. Or even worse; a figment of the imagination. Eerily beautiful, I strongly suggest this to anyone who’s looking for a dark-but-happy instrumental to listen.

 photo Signature_zps96780f45.png

6 thoughts on “7 Instrumental Pieces I Fell In Love With (Part 3)

  1. I love arrival of the birds and the lasr carnival ! you have a really good taste:D oh and this is part 3 so where can i find the other parts of this thread? I would love to have a look 🙂

    • Rameen! I just linked you to the other two parts 🙂
      You’ve made a very good point: the “7 Instrumentals I Love…” series is rather difficult to navigate. I’ll fix that up ASAP. 🙂 (Maybe by making a category for them)

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

