The Monsters Inside of Us

I wrote this short story for the Daily Prompt challenge, and used mainly dialogue to capture the voices of my characters and used minimal narration –which is a huge difference for me, as I am more of a two-thirds narration and one-third dialogue/descriptions kind of person.

Either way, it really helped me open new doors in the endless world of creative writing.

“Grandpa, if I gave you a million dollars, what would you do?”

“Never give it back, of course,” he jokes, flicking my nose. He props himself up on his elbows, colourful leaves crunching underneath his hunched body. Midst the stencils of tree branches overhead, sunbeams light our faces, and the warmth spreads from our flesh onwards. “Hey, don’t give me that look.”

Ignoring his teasing grin, I continue, “Is there anything you’d buy?”

“You know I hate answering questions that don’t have meaning, son.”

“You mean hypotheticals?”

He looks surprised. As his ashen eyebrows raise, wrinkles appear beneath his pale blue eyes. “My, your vocab’s growing.”

“’Course it is. Turning ten this year.” I lean closer to him. “Just this one hypothetical? Please?”

“Alright then.” He lies back down. I resist the urge to roll my eyes; Grandpa’s lazy nature has nothing to do with his age. “Know what I’d do?”

“What?”

He points at the sun. “I’d get rid of global warming.”

Global warming? But we’ve got years –like, decades,” I add, a recent word I’ve learnt from my math teacher.

“Maybe. But if we don’t take responsibility, the world will be an awful place for people in the future.”

“You mean generations?”

“Jeez, you kids know so much. At your age, I still thought clouds were cotton.”

“You met grandma back then, didn’t you?”

His face darkens. “Son–”

“Because that’s what I’d buy with my million dollars. I’d get rid of death in this world, once and for all.” When Grandpa slowly steers away from me, his face hidden underneath his broad-brim hat, I look down. A single blade of grass sticks up; I dig my nails and rip it into two. “Sorry, Grandpa,” I say quietly. “I know you don’t like talking about it.”

After a moment’s silence, he finally speaks up. “Son, do you know what a monster is?”

I blink. “’Course I do. It’s a really big, imaginary creature–”

“They live inside of us. They are far more real than we dare to imagine.”

I watch him walk off, hands shoved into pockets and a limp in his left foot. He left his bag behind.

“Grandpa, you forgot your…” I trail off, recognising he’s not listening. As I pick up the unzipped bag, an object tumbles forward. A sleek-designed gun, liquorice black, fully loaded with bullets.

The wind carries the leaves in a disarrayed, forceful direction. My hands clench into tight fists, a distinct unsettling notion washing over me. Suddenly, the sunbeams don’t feel anywhere as warm.

Wow, that turned out a lot darker than I anticipated. A lot of hints about the characters were expressed in the dialogue, along with minimal narration and description. Needless to say, it is heavily influenced by my currently anime obsession, Monster, in which the theme of this short story derived from. Also, I apologise for the open-ending, but I feel it’s best for this kind of short story.

If you have any interpretations, I would love to hear them. I also love reading blogs, so feel free to shamelessly put a link to your own Daily Post prompt in the comment box (I’ll try and get to all of them, as I love challenges like these)

*

OTHER AWESOME DIALOGUE-BASED POSTS:

  1. Flying lessons | Thin spiral notebook
  2. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue – Long walks and dark chocolate
  3. Weekly writing challenge: Dialogue | La chica de la burbuja
  4. The Answer | Proverbs 31 Teen
  5. Intermission | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  6. V is for Vitroil | Anecdote Love
  7. Edifice of Love | A beetle with earrings
  8. Lets Talk About Warriors. | Many More Ripples
  9. Weekly writing challenge: Dialogue | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  10. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue — Hello, I’m your wife. I live here! | SERENDIPITY
  11. The Preferred Destination | anniethinksabout
  12. For the Children with Specs | Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student
  13. The Reunion | Spinning a Yarn~~
  14. Getting to school | A mom’s blog
  15. “She said what?” Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | Tales from the Motherland
  16. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue – I Don’t Give A …. | 아토 (Ato)
  17. Challenges | pdinspire
  18. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | Amelie Lockhart
  19. i would like to get | y
  20. Apology from a Recovering Evangelical | So Here’s Us…
  21. Temporary (a short story) | katy warner
  22. The Other Baby | A Mourning Mom
  23. Weekly WritingChallenge: Dialogue on a chilly summer morning | Someday I Will Learn
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | Melinda S. Gregory
  25. “The Best Goodbye: A Tribute.” | Reading, Writing and Laughing on the Way to Inner Bliss:
  26. DP Weekly Challenge: Dialogue | decidinglybob
  27. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | Stevie’s Words
  28. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | life n me!
  29. One Topic, Three Takes: Weddings | The Daily Post
  30. Daily Post Weekly Writing Challenge: What’s Up? | I’m no stargirl
  31. Regroup and Recoup (Part 3) | CardCastlesInTheSky
  32. 1 Lorazepam, 2 Lorazepam…. 55 Lorazepam, More! | A Girl Divided
  33. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | The Last Goodbye | mattsden101
  34. The Blue Coat | Shay’s Blog
  35. Weekly Writing Challenge | He Said, She Said (Dialogue) | InkOutLoud
  36. Don’t skimp on the dialogue. | Official Blog of Cedaria: Blackout
  37. Wake me up when it’s all over. | Thoughts of a Lesser Canine
  38. Floating in Black | obsidiousrise
  39. Heartache for Christmas | All Things Girl
  40. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | kendrawaters
  41. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | Words We Women Write
  42. The Great Game: Chapter 1 – Scouting | Threadbare Cafe
  43. The System | Lovin the Trip
  44. In Response to this week’s Daily Post Challenge: Dialogue | The Necessary Blog
  45. Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside II & Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | My DogaBlog
  46. A Love for Love | Teapotted Dreams
  47. Witness To A Crucifixion | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  48. Therapy in my Madness | The Adventures of Cat Madigan
  49. In Memory | melanielynngriffin
  50. “License and Registration, Please” (part one) | Conversations
  51. BRIBING THE DEMONS | Standing Ovation, Seated
  52. Between The Lines | Thoughthouse
  53. Lost In Translation. | My thoughts on a page.
  54. Weekly Writing Challenge: Summit | mardmood
  55. The Drive Over | Wise Woman in Training
  56. Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | To Breathe is to Write
  57. The Gulf of Honduras Bridge Is Not On The Charts! | The Life NomadikThe Life Nomadik
  58. Have you heard about patents? | Neva Samaki
  59. Jack Bauer Never Sneezes: A Day of Living on Purpose | A Stone’s Throw
  60. The Patio | Hey, Miss Adventures!
  61. Of those who like to stay late at the cafe | The reluctant writer
  62. The New Yorker | A Modest Affair
  63. “It’s Jesus.” – DPchallenge | write way up
  64. Glowing Distractions | Life. In Light Of Eternity.
  65. A resounding beep…. | notsinglebutnothappy
  66. Knife | JC Bride ~
  67. Partners « RPMAS
  68. How to admit you’re wrong (and be an ass hat about it) | Random Musings …
  69. Strangers on a Plane | Mostly Just Fiction
  70. A One-Act Play that I wrote… | Robin- Girl Wonder
  71. One way trip to Mars and Aliens- Mr P has a Silly Dialogue | avatarofmrbean
  72. A Quick Bite | draliman on life
  73. Homework life | A Girl with a Piano
  74. Homework and my life | A Girl with a Piano

19 thoughts on “The Monsters Inside of Us

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | My Atheist Blog

  2. I am so loving the darkness and the open ending! I agree that this challenge was difficult. I am new to the world of lots of dialogue, but it is such an exciting place to visit. I think the open ending is great. It leaves me wanting to know more and pondering the various potential meanings of your piece. My first thought was that the grandpa intended to kill himself and/or his grandson. It also occurred to me that perhaps Grandma was murdered and Grandpa intends to kill the murderer.

    • Wow, thank you so much for your interpretation! And quite honestly, I hadn’t thought of either endings for the short story –it’s always lovely to see what other people infer from an open-ending, because it rarely ever matches my own. Thank you so much for stopping by! (I simply must read your piece. I have it opened on a new tab and it looks so interesting!)

  3. Thank you so much for reading my story and for the mention in your blog. That really means a lot. I really enjoyed your piece – it did leave me wanting more, which I think is fantastic… Felt like the flashback to a much bigger story – I want to read the novel! What wonderful characters. Looking forward to reading more of your work in the future.

  4. Pingback: Witness To A Crucifixion | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Dialogue | Joe's Musings

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

