Goodbye September, Hello October

This wonderful GIF is one of the many on Tumblr. I absolutely love flowers, so it made my entire day. 🙂 The month of September has been a pleasant one, filled with school holidays, anime marathons and a lot of studying (but for subjects I absolutely adored).

Also, all my exams are over, and I have found that I have a B-plus for every single subject that is at a “B” standard. It is extremely motivating to know that if I get an A in those subjects, I’ll have all A’s (!). Also, this was the month I tried baking cookies (and burnt my hand in the process). Well, I’ll never enter a kitchen again.

It has been a lovely month. And through this post, I’d like to emphasise specific points that I loved.

Before I begin my reflections for the month, I’d like to address the goals from September, and how I did on them.

  1. Earn a total of 10,000 grains on FreeRice.com [Cause: poverty] (I did spend a little extra time on FreeRice, but I haven’t reached 10,000 grains yet. I believe I’m on the 8,000 mark)
  2. Write blog-posts supporting and raving on my favourite unknown books (In my drafts, I have a post with snippets of a review for this challenge. However, I have written a review which will be featured on Kate’s Blog on the 4th of October, showcasing one of the books that scared me –as part of her Halloween challenge.)
  3. Compliment 10 people’s blogs on Tumblr [Cause: friendliness/just something extra] (It’s funny, because I completely forgot about this goal. Yet, I am completely sure I have complimented at least 10 people on Tumblr, but I haven’t been counting)
  4. Write a math “cheat sheet” for the unit we’re currently learning and share it with friends [Cause: education] (Have not started on this. We have an assignment first up, so a “cheat sheet” –meaning a sheet with all the terms and definitions, in a concise format– wouldn’t be too helpful)
  5. Write a blog-post on gender equality [cause: feminism] (This I really want to do. Haven’t gotten around to it yet)
  6. Design some more graphics for those who desire them [cause: general interaction] (Yes! I completely forgot about this goal too, but just yesterday I designed some graphics without having the goal in mind)
  7. Volunteer at a local charity –something I’ve always wanted to do [cause: helping out the community] (Have not done this. My parents are both extremely busy at the moment with studies, so it might be a while before somebody can give me a lift for charity-work)

*

For this month, I’ll be answering questions from my dear friend, AdzTeal, who was kind enough to inbox me a couple of questions. 🙂

Favourite Anime (Horror)

I have mentioned this before, but my favourite horror anime also happens to be my all-time favourite. It is set in the 19th century, just after the Cold War, Hitler and Nazism, and post World War 2. However, you don’t need historical knowledge to love this anime, as most of the time it didn’t feel historical, but more contemporary than I could ever imagine. In basic terms, the story is told through the perspective of different characters, leading to the ultimate concept of a “Monster.”

This isn’t the childish, imaginary monster hidden under beds; this is an apathetic, manipulative and heartless criminal who has a goal in mind –to be the last one standing among disarrayed trails of “ants” (or people). His name is Johan. Or is it?

Through philosophical conflicts, historically accurate portrayals, and a fictional world that too often feels real, Monster is a masterpiece of interwoven characters, dialogue and the inevitable truth that perhaps there are villains in all of us.

Dr. Kenzo Tenma is a renowned young brain surgeon of Japanese descent working in Europe. Highly lauded by his peers as one of the great young minds that will revolutionize the field, he is blessed with a beautiful fiancé and is on the cusp of a high promotion in the hospital he works at.

However, all of that is about to change with one critical decision that Dr. Tenma faces one night—whether to save the life of a young child or that of the town’s mayor. Despite being pressured by his superiors to perform surgery on the mayor, his morals force him to perform the surgery on the young child, saving his life and forfeiting the mayor’s.

All of a sudden, Dr. Tenma’s world is turned upside down by his decision leading to the loss of everything he previously had. A doctor is taught to believe that all life is equal; however, when a series of murders occur in the vicinity of Dr. Tenma, all of the evidence pointing to the young child who he saved, Tenma’s beliefs are shaken.

Naoki Urasawa’s Monster is a tale full of mystery, suspense and intrigue as Dr. Tenma journeys to find out the true identity of the young child. In turn, the fate of the world may depend on it.

Favourite Anime (Non-Horror)

Working!! is one of those anime that completely put me off with the extra exclamation marks in the title. However, as I began watching the anime itself, I could understand what the enthusiasm was for.

Following a workplace scenario with quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments and a surprising depth, Working!! is undoubtedly the most funniest anime I have ever come across. The fact that it is more than comic relief –focusing on friendship, conflicts of the mind, loyalty– just happens to make it that hundred percent better.

It’s definitely a contrast from Monster, yet I love it just as much.

Working!!

Set in a family restaurant in Hokkaido, the northern prefecture of Japan, 16-year-old high school student Souta Takanashi works part-time along with his strange co-workers: Popura Taneshima, a high school girl who’s a year older than Souta, yet easily mistaken for an elementary/middle schooler, and Kyoko Shirafuji, the 28-year-old store manager who doesn’t bother to do any work at all.

Favourite Band

The Fray is my favourite band of all-time. However, I’ll be honest: I liked their old songs better. There isn’t anything wrong with their new ones, but the feeling has definitely decreased; it doesn’t sound as heartfelt anymore. Also, their lyrics are quite generic now.

I have found a lot of friends who love The Fray now (their newer songs) because of their new sound, yet, I cannot agree. Their albums The Fray and How to Save A Life are the only albums I ever fell in love with (every single song). They hold so many memories, and each time I listen to them, I find a different interpretation of the lyrics.

Favourite Ice-Cream

Although I have said this many times before, cookies-and-cream ice-cream is my entire life (kind of). I also adore Oreo ice-cream of any kind, those with Maltesers and strawberry frozen yoghurt.

Also, I love caramel ice-cream. My favourite variety of cookies/cream ice-cream would most definitely be the Aldi “Indulge” ones. Although Peters have their own sort, I still love the preminum ice-cream better (which makes more sense, as it’s doubly expensive).

Favourite Song

My favourite song of all-time is Predictable by Delta Goodrem. I have written a post about the meaning of the song for me, as it defines the “musical” aspect of my life.

As for my current favourite song, it’d have to be a combination between Save Tonightby Eagle Eye Cherry and Shattered by Trading Yesterday. Both of these songs are also nostalgic, and I have also written a post about Shattered’s beautiful lyrics.

Favourite Colour Combination

Every colour is beautiful. There are a couple I love slightly more, such as pastels, earth-like colours, shades of water (blues, greens), and baby-combinations (such as baby-blue/yellow/pink). They are such pretty colours to showcase.

However, my ultimate colour combination is infinitely simple: black, white, and the many shades of gray. It is so simple, but surprisingly effective. Tones of grays, blacks and white allow this other depth in a picture. It always looks classy, too –black and white go with absolutely anything. Also, it replicates the appearance of cookies and cream ice-cream.

October Goals:

October Goals (2013):

I am keeping my October goals to limited but quite challenging ones. This way, I can focus on these specifically rather than forgetting them all (which I did last month).

  • Finish writing my novel, Violet Ink
  • Complete all graphics on my Wattpad thread
  • Revise schoolwork every single night

So that concludes my September –filled with anime and happiness (same thing)! Looking back, it was a wonderful month. Can’t wait to see what October holds!

 photo Signature_zps96780f45.png

5 thoughts on “Goodbye September, Hello October

  1. Woot! hehe, thanks for answering! Indeed both the animes are quite contrasting but who cares it should adversely affect someone’s life…and whoa I admire your taste in music, it’s calming, you know?, unlike mine…hehe, well, black and white indeed is a simple combination but it leaves alot to imagine as you may have noticed most mangas are in black and white.(Or atleast the ones I’ve read on the mangahere website.)

    and wow, Free rice?Going right over there.(to help, ofcourse)

    say, thanks again and hope you finish Violet Ink, it’s getting really interesting, and who can resist the curiosity to know Tessa’s past.

    • Thank you so much! I have to ask, do you have a favourtie anime? (Or 120931092310923 like I do? xD)
      Ooh, what kind of music do you like? Any particular band or song as your favourite?
      I love black-and-white combos. And I agree -manga printed in black and white leaves colours to the person’s imagination. It’s lovely!
      Freerice! 😀 (It’s an awesome website… that I haven’t visited for a long time…)
      Thank you for reading VI! 😀 As for Tessa, she cannot resist the curiosity at all. Who knows what measures she’ll take in order to retrieve it? 😉

  2. Remy! I absolutely adore all your monthly reflection posts. Keep writing! I promise I’ll finish reading Violet Ink after my exams c:

      • You’re welcome! I’m fine, thanks! I have an exam tomorrow though, and I’ll only finish all my exams in two weeks’ time. Oh well. How are you doing? We really need to catch up! c:

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

