For the Love of Literature

When I began writing, I wasn’t sure why. It was a tough time for my twelve-year-old time (the peak of adolescence, you may call it) and writing gave me solace. I found myself veered into a world where I didn’t have to think about reality. The funny thing is, I never liked books or reading. Yes, I had read a couple of Emily Eyefinger and Harry Potter novels in the past, but that was nothing short of mainstream.

Only after I started writing did I fully love literature. I began “researching” for my novels by reading fictional books of the genre I wrote, worked out grammar rules and how to “show and not tell” (although I still haven’t mastered it yet).

This may seem quite mundane to some of you, with artistic families and literature-loving relatives. But for me, daughter of two science-adoring doctors and a mother who brags about reading two books in her entire lifetime, it was a huge contrast to my parents. My friends, at that time, read books but not excessively, and always preferred movies and television shows. There were little external influences for my love of literature. 

Then I found a cause. Sometimes, I would say something relating to literature, and my dad would give me a look and say, “That’s exactly what my mum said.” My idea of the perfect leisure activity –curling beside the fireplace on a winter’s night, overflowed with blankets, and a good horror book in my hands– is something else I unknowingly quoted from my grandmother. Likewise, my love for reading other opinions of certain works and criticism of my favourite books to open my mind is something else my grandmother did.

The last time I saw my grandmother was when I was four. I have no memories of her. It was also around that time we moved to New Zealand and visited only after my grandmother’s death, when I was eight years old. Yet, I feel close to her, even if it’s only through stories I’ve never experienced with my own eyes.

Near her death, her eyesight faded completely, but her love of literature continued through audio-books and the occasional radio. She loved biscuits with tea, and had a huge container with all varieties of cookies. On my first birthday (I believe) she gave me a white dress which, in my opinion, continues to be the most beautiful dress I’ve ever seen.

In the first ever novel I printed using Createspace (and the third novel I had written), this was the dedication: To my grandmother, for sharing the love of literature in my genes. Obviously, I had to work hard to get where I was (finishing the novel, editing, etc.) but I feel as if the aspiration to be like my grandmother, the admiration for her connection drove me forward.

It may not be genetic. I suppose a lot of things aren’t. But I see a lot of myself in my grandmother, and that gives me hope.

*

OTHER ANALYSERS OF DNA:

  1. HARLEQUIN: Weekly Writing Challenge | alienorajt
  2. Seeing Me | Real Life Co.
  3. Writing Challenge:DNA | With Cream and Sugar
  4. Weekly writing challenge | theincompetenthausfrau
  5. It’s No Mystery | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  6. Bits and Pieces — A weekly writing challenge | Ty
  7. Mirror, mirror on the wall, why the wormwood and the gall? | voxturturis
  8. Archive of Comments | Arlen Shahverdyan. Author’s Blog
  9. The DNA Bite: A Poem | Blue Loft
  10. The Melting Pot | All work and quite a lot of play
  11. Being a Good Friend (Weekly Writing Challenge) | Anecdotal Tales
  12. WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge | Evelinasec’s Blog
  13. Weekly writing challenge: More than the sum | Life of a Fallen Angel
  14. WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge | Poeme Sur Le Web Blog
  15. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Talking Student
  16. DNA | FUNNY…PECULIAR
  17. “Reflect upon your present blessings-of which every man has many-not on your past misfortunes, of which all men has some”- Charles Dickens | n3wbeginnings11
  18. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | imaginations
  19. I’m corned beef, he’s yum cha | bodhisattvaintraining
  20. Weekly writing challenge: DNA analysis | La chica de la burbuja
  21. Weekly Writing Challenge | grandmothersays
  22. Weekly Writing Challenge | grandmothersays
  23. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Let There be Peace on Earth
  24. Looking at the girl in the mirror | Knitting, feminism and miscellaneous ranting
  25. DNA analysis: A secret vision | Diary of a quirky girl
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Saindo da SêMente
  27. under life’s imminent | y
  28. WWC: Personal Black Box | Kingdom of Sharks
  29. Family Genes | Deepika’s Foodventures
  30. DPChallenge: DNA Analysis…Gifts From My Father | anniethinksabout
  31. Where the “I am” came from… | Building A Healthy Village
  32. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis – Mirrored Images | SERENDIPITY
  33. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | lifebeinggirly
  34. be positive … or don’t. | these six letters.
  35. Adventure Awaits | The Moonshaker
  36. A 100% Me | Catherine Cai says…
  37. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | tynishabrice
  38. Fossi una farfalla ❤
  39. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | life n me!
  40. WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE: DNA ANALYSIS | Whisper Reflections
  41. Discrepancy | Passive Good Mornings
  42. Turn Your Face | Little Minions
  43. Analyzing Myself | Speak Through Your Heart and Your Mind Will Follow
  44. A symbol of who I am | Fi’s Thoughts
  45. I look for you in every man. | efyusikey
  46. Smiling is Suspicious | An Upturned Soul
  47. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | 3rdculturechildren
  48. The Hobby that Passes On | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  49. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | terry1954
  50. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | A Hedonistic Wander
  51. DNA | Not Enough Poetry
  52. Challenge Response | Rachelloon Productions
  53. DNA Analysis | Danny James
  54. The Truth About Me | lifewithgreeneyes
  55. Hand-me-downs | Wary, Contrary and no Virgin Mary
  56. The Million Strands | The Curious mind of Charlie Brown
  57. Deconstructing me | abstractionsoflife
  58. DNA or Destiny? | Daily Observations
  59. Weekly Writing Challenge – DNA Analysis – Emotional DNA | Serendipitous Cookery
  60. DP Challenge DNA Analysis, Not A Party Thrower | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  61. Who Am I? | Word Doodles
  62. Squirrels in The Family Tree | Muddling & Mashups
  63. Day 56. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis. | Forlorn Hope: A Diary Of A Broken Heart
  64. aprastyo27
  65. 1.10 Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  66. Mirror Mirror on the wall, who am I like most of all? | Live. Love. Laugh
  67. Great way to brush up on your writing skills | become a writer one day
  68. Pieces of me…intensely personal writing | Hope* the happy hugger
  69. Man is not a puppet but master of the Nature | crookedeyebrows
  70. My Train of Thought | In Harmony
  71. Overcoming limitation | Fi’s Thoughts
  72. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Your Daily Dose
  73. The BSC Gene (Bat Shit Crazy) | mostlytrueramblings
  74. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/writing-challenge-dna/ | Teenagers – lost and found
  75. How I fared at the genetic lottery | i fancy a doozy
  76. Summers 7F | Keigh Ahr
  77. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  78. Family tree | Thin spiral notebook
  79. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA ~ My Mother’s Hands | The Day After
  80. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | At least we made it this far…
  81. DNA Analysis | Heartyblue
  82. Cat’s runaw-BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZT! | The Adventures of Cat Madigan
  83. Root Connections | Winding Road
  84. The Hair I Inherited | The Temple of the Home
  85. The Code for Life: DNA | Juli Castillo
  86. What The Future Holds? | Flowers and Breezes
  87. Honey, it’s in my DNA | Things I See and Know
  88. DNA – Discovering inNate Attributes | A Woman at the Well
  89. Only a Name | Lost Boy Problems
  90. Bipolar Disorder | A mom’s blog
  91. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis via Love Lines | Aurora Morealist
  92. Why am I me? | Better Than Reality
  93. Decipher. kNow. Analyse. | Crossroads
  94. Manifestations of Idiot Blood: The DNA of My Eccentric Extended Family | Wordtaku
  95. my DNA analysis | s1ngal
  96. Best in small doses. | Vampire Maman
  97. Genetics in Action | Ramblings of a Creative Mind
  98. In the Mirror | Lightning Bug
  99. wee bee vs. mamma bee | weebeebird
  100. A Living, Breathing Family Tree | The Silver Leaf Journal
  101. Mirror, mirror on the wall. | Simple Heart Girl
  102. Who do I think I am? | A Wilderness of Words
  103. Hapa | 2nd Time Is A Charm
  104. Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Ruminations & Observations…
  105. DNA Analysis – Daily Post | Nichole Donje’
  106. Weekly Writing Challenge | DNA Analysis : Sticky out ears | Between Screens
  107. Weekly Writing Challenge – DNA Analysis | Joe’s Musings
  108. DNA Analysis | nirupamaprv
  109. A Mother’s Love | Happy Innocent Musume Senshi

17 thoughts on “For the Love of Literature

  1. Good winds to you! I love your story of how he discovered the magical adventure that literature provides. What a beautiful and amazing person should have been your grandmother, just like you … 😉 Cafuné and lots of light

  2. I have a friend named Diane. She is having some issues no putting a book on Create Space. I gave her your link. I hope maybe you two can speak to each other through here with helpful advice for her. Thank you, Terry

  3. I was lucky enough to grow up with a mother who adores reading, and a father who came to it later, just because he was sick of her keeping the light on all night.

    My siblings also read, and we have wonderful conversations, and share books.

    I think it’s wonderful that you came to literature of your own accord, but that this is something you can share with your grandmother, despite not being together.

    Lovely post 🙂

  4. Hi! I started with the love of reading. That was MY escape for so long. I think my love of reading helped teach me to write well. I don’t have any writing genes that I know of, like you. It’s so nice you know who it came from.
    Thank you. You have a beautiful blog.

  5. so glad that you discovered reading, even though you didn’t grow up with books. I work in a library where I’m surrounded by books. Can’t imagine living without them. Good luck with your writing.

    • You have my dream job! A library is one of my favourite places in the world, and I envy you so much right now. xD And thank you for wishing me luck! Have a wonderful time with your infinite number of books. :3

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – DNA Analysis | Joe's Musings

  7. Pingback: An Unfinished Melody (Piano Cover of “Sleepless Beauty” by Ryuichi Sakuma) | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

