4 Reasons Why You Should Write

As my exams are all next week (even one that’s supposed to be this week got moved to next), I need something to procrastinate on. Therefore, I have listed reasons why you should adopt writing as a hobby, or simply try it as a recreational activity. One of the main reasons people tend to dislike writing is due to its close relationship with school, academics, essays, etc. However, if you find something you love and want a way to express yourself, this post will cover why writing may be for you.

Also, this is a response to the Daily Post. If I want to leave a “trace” of myself, it would be to encourage new writers. Instead of writing about a vague list of encouragements, this is the exact words I would use.

download

NoteI am, by no means, the “end result” of these conditions. I have a large amount of things to achieve (I even have a checklist!) in order to improve my writing, and even then, I will have a million things more to improve. But the beauty of writing is this: I know I have improved from the beginning, regardless how difficult achieving the end is. And no matter where you start, writing is something you will inevitably improve in with constant, dedicated practice.

download

1. Helps you become concise in your writing

This is probably the most important lesson I’ve learnt. When I initially began writing, my sentences were filled with heaps of unnecessary words and awkward phrases (I still have some of them, but it has improved). Concision is an important quality for any level of education, especially if you’re in high-school (like me) and they loathe long sentences (something I am, unfortunately, guilty of).

However, I can confidently say that, even since I began writing, my overall writing is more to-the-point, better structured, and less confusing. I can now say what I wish to express in fewer words, and it’s basically a skill that improves every-time I write.

Here’s a piece of advice that’s easier said than done:

Say whatever you wish to express in the least amount of words possible.

However, the only way you’ll learn how to express yourself is through practice. Constant writing, scribbling and receiving feedback from people around you.

Having concise sentences can help you:

  • Stick to word-counts for essays and school projects
  • Create more impacted sentences
  • Great for timed speeches where you have limited words to express yourself
  • Increase understanding in your sentences

download

2. Increases your vocabulary and love of words

I suppose this is more applicable to readers, who’re always on the lookout for new vocabulary words, but can also relate to a whole range of professions and hobbies. Being able to identify patterns in a language and learning new words will never disadvantage person; having little vocabulary may. When you begin writing, you will find a strange hunger for words, and learning vocabulary words is never a chore; it’s something I enjoy.

At one point in my schooling life, I was assigned list of words to learn how to spell. But I loved learning them, because it meant I had new words to incorporate into my writing. I sat down and learnt them with a genuine interest, as I could see the big picture; I could sense the value, the power of words. When I was 14, I sat down with the GRE words and memorised all 1,000 of them (I forgot the meanings of most of them now, but still remember a few), loving every second. Words are such powerful things, and I have a million more to learn.

Having a good vocabulary will:

  • Help you in essays and express yourself clearly
  • Improve yourself in more ways than one
  • Assist you when reading difficult texts with complicated sentence structures

But one of the best things is, writing is for everyone, regardless of their vocabulary level. I have never come across a writer whose vocabulary did not improve dramatically after repeated practice. No matter where you start, you will always learn something new, and branch off from things you already know.

download

3. Helps your psychological state

One of the main things I’ve learnt about writing, and is undoubtedly part of other art, is how much patience is required. You need to sit with an idea for the length of a novel, accept writing won’t always be first priority, and somehow overcome hurdles of the first draft.

But it’s through these hardships that you develop strengths. I used to have a bad habit of not finishing what I begun, jumping from story to story, before I eventually dedicated myself to one novel. After I completed it, I developed the habit of completing what I finished. However, it took a long time, and at least 120,000 words from multiple previous unfinished projects (yikes!) before I actually completed a novel. Once I began, I never stopped.

Also, one of the reasons I love writing is how it’s so relaxing (although I can’t say much about my present project, Violet Ink, which isn’t the most relaxing book to write…) and is the perfect way to unwind after another day. Turn some instrumental music on, type at the keyboard, and when  the word-count hits 2,000, upload it online without a second glance-over. It’s a very easy process.

Every writer friend of mine is an optimist. 100% of them. Of course there are writers who aren’t optimists, but my writer friends are. They are generally happy, always bright and colourful, and love typing away stories of their respective genre. I don’t know whether writing makes them optimistic, or it’s vice versa, but positive-thinking is definitely a psychological advantage.

download

4. Writing is a simple hobby

The beauty of writing is there is no set place. You can get a notebook and scrawl, take a laptop with you and type, or even rearrange words on a fridge for magnetic poetry. There is no prerequisite one requires to begin writing, and the majority of the population already do it anyway, as part of everyday life. The simplicity of writing is the many ways to approach one simple thing, and as stated previously, it branches off basic literacy skills (things you already know, anyway). Of course, practice is how you improve.

Writing can be anything. I have a recent love for haikus and slam poetry, but you can take up television scripts, multimedia projects to convey an emotion to the audience, or work on a novel. It is completely up to you and your tastes. Also, unlike some hobbies, there are many books and resources which reference it.

download

Are you convinced? Start right now!

  1. NaNoWriMo – Possibly a big jump, but it’s basically a challenge where you write 50,000 words in the month of November. Definitely not for the faint-hearted, and it’s happening right now. If you want to be more flexible, set yourself an easy word-count over at Young Writers Program NaNo (basically for younger writers).
  2. 750words – This is a site that encourages you to write 750 words everyday. It can be anything –shopping lists, novel chapters, poems– but the whole point is to create a good writing habit.
  3. 30-Day writing challenge – Quite possibly the best challenge I’ve come across. Basically, the minute you open up your laptop, you write for minimum 10 mins before continuing onto other tasks; it’s definitely the best way to avoid procrastination.
  4. Written? Kitten! – A really, really cute way to start writing. Every couple of hundred-words (changeable), the page reloads with another picture of a cute kitten.
  5. Write or Die – If you prefer a, ahem, darker way to make yourself write, this is the tool for you. Just fill in the details underneath the “Web App” form.
  6. The Imagination Prompt – I believe this is better for bloggers than fiction writers, but who knows? It may help you as well. It’s basically a random prompt generator.
  7. ZenWriter – A software, but I remember loving its minimal layout. You can even change the background music and pattern as well.

These resources are all from the top of my head. See what I mean by numerous references on writing?

download

OTHER TRACES BLOGGERS LEFT BEHIND:

  1. Archive of Comments | Arlen Shahverdyan. Author’s Blog
  2. WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE: FADING TRACES AND OLD MEMORIES | SERENDIPITY
  3. Traces | Kansa Muse
  4. Breadcrumbs | Master Of Disaster
  5. The Art of War | K beezy is viral
  6. Wet cement | Margaret Rose Stringer
  7. She was a memory | thinkerscap
  8. Traces: DP Challenge | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  9. Arrogance Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  10. The Lavender Flowers | Stories From My Mind
  11. Trace | MindMeld
  12. Lavender and Rain | So This Is Writing?
  13. Like Flowers on a Grave | loveletterstoaghost
  14. Day Twenty-Four: Veteran At Death | Clearing My Voice
  15. it’s veterans day | Musings of a Random Mind
  16. Traces of You | UP! With Jesus
  17. Weekly Writing Challenge: Traces [Week 1] | Goss Family Blog
  18. DP Weekly Challenge/Traces: The Things He Left Behind | Between Madness & Euphoria
  19. Weekly Writing Challenge; Traces | terry1954
  20. Remembering You | Lucky Number Devin
  21. Lilac | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  22. My Life in Stuffing, Words, and Paint: Searching for an Identity | The Positivity Project
  23. 12/11 Weekly Writing Challenge: Traces | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: Traces | imaginations
  25. Traces of my soul | મન ની વાત
  26. Gone fishin’ | Thin spiral notebook
  27. in the middle of | y
  28. Ode To Something Great | The Dread Pirate Buttercup
  29. A Chinese Dragon in an English Garden | An Upturned Soul
  30. A Father’s Legacy | A mom’s blog
  31. Traces Left Behind | Rose with Thorns
  32. Traces | Weekly Writing Challenge | A chain of thoughts…
  33. Maybe, just maybe… | mostlytrueramblings
  34. We All Need Band-Aids | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  35. Valkyrie | Chooser of the Slain | Lightning Bug
  36. Weekly Writing Challenge: Traces | Diary of a light worker
  37. The only polite thing to do … | Empressnasigoreng’s Blog
  38. WWC – Traces “A Family Affair” | aliabbasali
  39. The Last Bouquet | Home’s Cool!
  40. Trace. — Souvenirs of His Soul. | mommyverbs
  41. Wooden Spoons | lemon lime follies
  42. The Photogragh | The Crone’s Apprentice
  43. Message From The Flowers | conscientiouseconomist
  44. Traces of Her | 1st Check Off The Bucket List
  45. Traces of Her | 1st Check Off The Bucket List
  46. The mark of our time | Ernest Marlin
  47. Whats a Non-Traditional Meta For? | knappermiester
  48. Traces Left Behind | Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle
  49. Top 10 for When You’re Pregnant | Fruit Loops & Foie Gras
  50. Traces | Insanitree
  51. My Blog isn’t My Mark | Avoiding Neverland
  52. Friendly ghosts | LynnSlyWrites
  53. I remember you. (Wed Fiction) | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  54. Summers 13D | Keigh Ahr
  55. The Graveyard Shift | S. J. Paige
  56. A Gift For Someone in Need | A Day in the Life of Anything that Happens to Catch My Interest
  57. Weekly Writing Challenge: Tracing Family | Making Life an Art
  58. Traces| Leaving Your Mark | Words from the heart
  59. Weekly Writing Challenge: Traces | Write Through Life
  60. The Sticks You Left Behind | eternal Domnation
  61. Every mom’s Jean Valjean moment. | jenny’s lark
  62. Evergreen Remembrance | Simply be, simply me
  63. The Mark of Me in Three Words | Mary J Melange
  64. Leaving Traces of Myself | tuckedintoacorner
  65. Riding With Peppers, The Video | A’A IN PARADISE
  66. Love Left Behind | Holoholo Girls
  67. Ligon’s Store | Ron Mayhew’s Blog
  68. Mosaic | Chopstix for Six
  69. Weekly Writing Challenge: Traces | roastbeefandrakija
  70. “Adding to the cabbage patch cause it looks like you swallowed a watermelon…” | Fruit Loops & Foie Gras
  71. Leaving Traces is all About the View | Cassie ~ Jux.ta.pozed
  72. Traces | medicinalmeadows
  73. The Regular | The Human Rights Warrior
  74. Traces of an author’s life | Monica Lee
  75. Clearing Away the Traces | Joyful Girl
  76. Writing Challenger Aproaching! | the Cats are Away
  77. Traces | I’m Supposed to be Doing Something Else Right Now
  78. NaBloPoMo Day 14: Mirror, Mirror | Drunk on Life
  79. Speculating Over the Traces of Transience | Blue Loft
  80. The beggar at the roundabout | Processing the life
  81. Weekly Writing Prompt: Traces | thisblogisepic
  82. Gold | For Lack of Paper
  83. Art and Science | Significant at the Time

4 thoughts on “4 Reasons Why You Should Write

  1. Great post! I love the overall positive clip and pace. As for Slam poetry. Please tell me you know of Saul Williams? If not please check him out. As well Mos Def is a brilliant example of slam poetry as well. Just some faves of mine 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on The Dread Pirate Buttercup and commented:
    I really loved this post on writing. I think there are often so many reasons to write that are overlooked for the easier “being creative” answers that are more obvious. So often the “tortured writer/ artist” is the story that gets passed around. I love the practical and yes optimistic tone. The reasons are quite true to me as well. For me the crowning achievement here is, This article gets to the the heart of a better question. WHY not write? When it has so many advantages and little to no downsides. Then WHY NOT?

  3. Wow! This is such a great post! Very informative and it actually motivated me to start writing again. I had the same habit of jumping from one story to the next as well. I was always put down by people who discourage idealism, current mindset. I’ve always struggled to keep writing because I didn’t have words of encouragement to keep me going or to put me at ease. There was always this weight on my shoulders whenever someone asked to see what I wrote. After reading your post, I feel a lot better. Thank you for sharing ~

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

