Why I Absolutely Loved Disney’s “Frozen”

I am, unfortunately, not one of those avid-Disney watchers. In fact, I don’t remember the last time I even watched a movie before today (I may be wrong, but a year ago? Two years?) Several friends of mine are die-hard Disney fans, watching every release with wide eyes, and I can’t admire their passion, although I could never pinpoint what they liked.

Although I liked some of the classics, most of them fell flat to me, like Tangled and The Princess and the Frog (although I adored the main character’s work ethic, and was wrote a post about it here). They were average, and I found them  quite forgettable.

However, I have no words to describe how incredible Frozen is. Everything about the animation, the skillful application of society and morals, and the lovable and clearly imperfect characters.. I loved everything about it. It is now one of my favourite movies of all time, and let me explain why.

Firstly, we have the beautiful animation. I think this goes for all of Disney’s works, ranging even from the late 90’s. and Frozen was no exception. I found myself absorbed in every detail, the way I could look at a character’s facial expression (so lifelike) and think, “Wow, that must have taken a lot of time and effort.” And it did. There’s no way such beautiful animation can be done without perseverance.

Below are the two sisters, Elsa (left) and Anna (right).

Secondly, the skillful application of society and morals is probably the main redeeming feature of this movie. Loosely based on The Snow Queen (a Hans Christian Andersen classic), Frozen offers a different perspective on the villain themselves. The movie is based around Elsa (the blonde sister in the GIF above) who is born with powers that freeze everything round her.

However, this is portrayed in such a human, heartbreaking and haunting way. Throughout the entire movie, I got chills whenever a villager shouted, “Monster” at Elsa, who was born with an misfortunate ability that separates her from the norm. Whenever Elsa restricted herself, was locked away, with a mask of pain and the true belief she is a monster, it was also brilliantly portrayed.

All throughout the movie, we are shown the contrast between societal expectations and actualities. The socially acceptable ones are shown under a different light (their actualities) and the ones who’re not accepted, the ones who’re outcasted, have their true nature revealed, one of nothing less than love and overall goodness.

There are numerous morals in this movie, but here are a couple that continue to resonate with me, one hour after perception. Whether you agree with them or not depends entirely upon you. However, as you can see, they are surprisingly deep (and timeless) for a movie aimed at children.

Families never try to hurt you willingly. Sometimes, it’s uncontrollable.

Sometimes, desperation means you’re blinded to the obvious dangers and false masks.

And lastly, I’ll let the snowman say this one:

Lastly, the imperfect characters definitely make the movie worthwhile. They are flawed in many aspects, but mainly their judgement and way of expression that doesn’t comply with princess expectations. In fact, I had to remind myself (quite often) that these were “princesses,” and not normal, everyday people. The fact there is little distinction in mannerisms between Anna and Kristoff was perfectly expressed, along with how close the village seemed. In fact, nobody seemed fazed when a “queen” approached them; instead, they enforced their heavy burdens and expectations upon them, another eerie comparison with modern society.

The movie itself relies on the false judgement, perceptions and (often) misguided presumptions characters make, based on other opinions and without knowing the whole picture properly. It also touches upon extreme topics, such as sacrifice, entwining them to create a sadly human nature. All the characters have different depths to them, and exceed beyond their set roles. Although they may not be entirely three-dimensional, I believe the full potential of each character’s “other sides” were depicted in this movie, given the short amount of time they had. It was done extremely well.

(Also, may I add how relatable all the characters are? The developers went through the effort of adding little traits to connect with the audience, such as their mutual love for chocolate, the bad hair days, the cute banters, unconditional love among siblings).

______

BONUS: I cannot express how much I loved the humour. Some of the jokes are a classic. The banters between the characters always lightened the mood, they sounded extremely friendly and familiar, like I’ve known the characters for years. The main character’s awkwardness is, unfortunately, all too relatable (I really, really wish it wasn’t). The snowman, the trolls and moose were also classic characters with mostly non-verbal but an adorable addition to the movie.

And, may we not forget, THE PUNS! Oh, the amount of times I had to pause the movie, just to catch my breath after laughing so much. I don’t want to give too many of them away, so I’ll just stick to one.

—–> There was this scene were the snowman was running, his head/bodies in the wrong order, and he says (while puffing), “I’m so out of shape.”

I laughed at that for a good five minutes. I may have a problem. Please help me.

5 thoughts on “Why I Absolutely Loved Disney’s “Frozen”

  1. I’m definitely not sold on this movie from the trailers but I may give it a try now. I think that Monster’s University was definitely one of the best Disney films I’ve seen in a long time, though the Princess and the Frog also wasn’t a hit with me

  2. Pingback: 2013 Disney’s: Frozen | liyanasaddli

  3. Aah, great review. I haven’t watched the movie yet but I’m sold ! 😀
    *Tangled Fan alert* Although I’ve to disagree with you on ‘Tangled’ thing, It was forgettable??? It was anything but. It is one of the best movies ever made. Humor in that movie is above and beyond. C’mon ! 😛

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

