Simply Sunday (#4)

simply-sunday-final1

Simply Sunday is a reading meme run here at Books for a Delicate Eternity. It’s where you can share your favourite quote of the week; be it from a book, a novella, a short story, a poem, a song – whatever you like!

I am the worst at updating on a regular schedule, so this Simply Sunday post is long overdue (about four weeks or so –yikes!) However, I finally remembered, and today’s Simply Sunday is on a quote I’ve loved for a long time, from one of my favourite books, Marcello in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork.

That’s what faith is, isn’t it? Following the music when we don’t hear it.


It is one of the very few books I want to reread, because everything about it is so beautiful. The book revolves around a boy with autism, Marcelo, who hears music in his head, but without any scientific explanation. His whole life, he’s been protected from the real world, by being sent to certain schools, specific places, etc. His father decides it’s best if Marcelo is released into the “real world,” as he calls it, and the bitterness of our everyday world is witnessed through innocent eyes.

I read this book in eighth grade and it remains one of the my favourites. However, I’m sad to say, I’ve forgotten most of the book’s plot –but I remember exactly how it made me feel, how I remember thinking, “I forgot how much I love reading.” After many, many books I didn’t like, Marcelo in the Real World was a gem, and I remembered wanting to read more beautiful books like this one.

These emotions, I think, everyone can relate to. You know that feeling of restlessness (and sometimes frustration) when you read a lot of books, but none of them resonate with you? You don’t learn anything, it doesn’t give you something to think about, and sometimes it feels like a waste of time. You don’t connect with the characters, are blinded by repetitive words and predictable plotline, and then give up on reading altogether.

This book reminded me that, once in a blue moon, I’ll find a book that proves me otherwise.

Following the music, the blur of pages, even through some areas I disliked and had to trudge through. Faith is believing someone out there understands –a writer can empathise with your feelings– and place them within the written word. You might not get the results straight away, as I’ve read twice as many books I’ve disliked over those I didn’t, but eventually, you’ll stumble across a gem. And all those painful pages will no longer mean anything.

Of course, faith can be interpreted in many ways. I’m just a little bookish at the moment, and my word’s revolving around reading (at this present time), but it’s bound to disappear in a while. Until then, though, I guess I’ll be buried in pages.

Also, I’m always up for book suggestions! I am currently reading The Picture of Dorian Gray which will easily become one of my favourite novels (unless the ending is extremely disjointed, but I can’t predict that happening). Have any of you read that novel? What did you think of it? Are you doing any holiday reading, and if so, would you recommend the book you are currently reading? If not, what book do you wish more people read?

3 thoughts on “Simply Sunday (#4)

  1. Oh, I absolutely LOVE this quote, and your explanation even more. I think I may just have to read this book – if it has influenced you so.
    And I know what you mean about precious novels. I read a lot, and yet, only some novels really stand out to me, and make me remember them. But they’re the ones that are worth it, right?
    Yes, I have read The Picture of Dorian Gray! I was sadly disappointed 😦 I hope you are not; though!
    I have been doing a heap of holiday reading, actually 😀 I just finished a book called Project Cain, and it was really interesting. It was about serial killers who had been cloned into children and teenagers. It was very unique, and extremely hough provoking. I am about to start Legend, which I have hear millions of good things about – so hopefully I will love it as much as everyone else!
    I wish more people read my favourite book, Wildwood Dancing. It is so supremely beautiful, and lyrical, and just all ’round amazing.
    Thank you for joining in Simply Sunday, as always, Ramisa! 😀

  2. Your blog is so delightful! I read the Picture of Dorian Gray in high school and it stayed with me since then. The best book I’ve read in a very long while is Stanley Lane-Poole’s Saladin And The Fall Of The Kingdom Of Jerusalem. It was so excellent! This is a book in the public domain, and I downloaded it as a text file, which was very hard to read as it didn’t keep bookmarks and I’d have to scroll forever to find my place each time I opened it. But I loved it so much and I want others to love it, too, so I’m posting it on my blog in easy to read posts – take a look if you like, at: http://aishasoasis.wordpress.com/2013/12/26/saladin-the-crusades-from-lane-poole-part-i-introductory-chapter-i/

  3. I LOVE the sound of Marcelo in the Real World! I’m checking it out on Goodreads right now. ^_^ You have a really beautiful blog! (I’m friends with you on Goodreads, so I thought I’d stop by.)

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

