Trello: The Organiser That Keeps Everything Together

Today, I stumbled across an amazing little application and felt the need to share. It is free (there is a premium version, but that’s if you want decorative features), so it’s a risk-free, wonderful organiser. I have worked with many other applications before (such as Wunderlist, Springpad, AnyDo) but I always left them after a while, because they served various other purposes, yet not the ones I needed.

However, this changed when I came across Trello.

So here I was, searching the net for a good way to organise books (I’m currently indulging in books again) and found various tricks and tips. But I stumbled across an article where the author used Trello, and decided to try it out for myself. It was a brilliant decision, because Trello has so many features I longed for in other applications without realising it.

My main problem with both Springpad and Wunderlist is, if I’m organising my life with them, separating items into separate lists causes me to forget about them altogether (or feel daunted by the amount of things on a single list).

The reason I love Trello’s interface is because I can see all my lists (all my to-do lists) at the same time, and work through them individually. However, if I do feel a little light-headed by the amount of work, I can just Archive it to “hide” the lists for the time-being, and bring them out when I’m finished.

Here is an example of what it looks like:

If I click “Archive” on the First Priority, Second Priority and Classics list, it keeps me focused on what I want to do.

The interface is extremely user-friendly, and highly repositionable and customisable. In fact, my board is the plainest version of a Trello board, because there are all kinds of amazing things you can do with it. Have a look at the “Welcome” board which is basically an effective tutorial on features.

In these simple cards, you can add pictures, hyperlinks, documents to help with your organisational needs. Not to mention, it’s also a cross-platform application with iOS and Android, if you have other devices to sync to. The user interface is clean and fresh, without sacrificing any of its functional quality.

It’s definitely a recommendation for anyone who’s organising things, let it be school-based (homework, assignments, exams) or recreational hobbies, such as writing and reading, or game-organising (whatever you want, really).  You can also use it for group projects and co-writing assignments, as there is a function to “add” other people to your board.

Click here to try Trello!

5 thoughts on “Trello: The Organiser That Keeps Everything Together

  1. Thanks Ramisa, I’m using Wunderlist but I found like you did that I’ll either forget a list or be overwhelmed by a list that is too long! Thanks for the suggestions. I’ll look at Bitrix24 too. Cheers.

    • I completely agree with the Wunderlist comment. It’s such a shame, because I loved it otherwise. And thank you for stopping by! I hope Trello works for you, and that Lech’s favourite software works for you as well. 😀

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

