rain [a small collection of haikus]

I jumped at the opportunity to participate in my school’s magazine, and I offered to write haikus (which is something I don’t normally write). It’s a wonderful challenge, though, and definitely something to broaden my literary skills. Also, I never realised just how many syllables I use until they’re limited. 

For this week’s challenge, I want to practice writing more haikus. As inspiration, I’m using rain and objects in groups of 3 (as part of the Weekly WordPress Challenge) in order to create an atmosphere.

I hope you enjoy them. (The GIFs are so beautiful; found them on Google images)

together we stroll
misty foothpaths reflecting
our empty, sad smiles

we count the raindrops
sipping from warm mugs, laughing
it’s all so simple

w

beauty is worthless
when merciless rain drenches
blindly; without thought

I hope you enjoyed this collection of haikus! It may not seem like it, but it honestly took me 1/2 hour just to write this. I rewrote each haikus so many times, but I loved the process. They are, undeniably, the only form of poetry I absolutely adore. If you have some poetry of your own, or even some haikus, feel free to link me below in the comment section. I love checking out new blogs!

***

OTHER GROUPS OF THREES:

  1. Memories | wrothbeard
  2. Marionettes | Stories from aside
  3. Seven Icicles, Part Two | Stealing All the Sevens
  4. Alleppy Trip | Wired With Words
  5. Youth – a Haiku | When the Door Closes
  6. Three Haikus | Making Life an Art
  7. From Above and Below | My Play Nook
  8. This is Why I Don’t Camp | Unload and Unwind
  9. Weekly Writing Challenge: 3 | Malchow Family Madness
  10. The tree that remembers | Divya Kumar’s Blog
  11. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | THE DRAGON MUM
  12. Believe | Babbleogue
  13. Art Garden Art | Funk House Art Garden
  14. What does it mean to take a photo anymore: A road trip triptych up the Coastal Highway « psychologistmimi
  15. Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned, 03.03.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
  16. The More | field of thorns
  17. Dreams Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  18. Pillow talk | Never Stationary
  19. stone | FamousFeline
  20. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | A mom’s blog
  21. Smile | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  22. Threes: Haikus from Pictures! | Blue Loft
  23. Winter Storm Titan Haikus | Fish Of Gold
  24. A Tribute to my Mum – the Unbeatable Woman | Dreams Will Catch You
  25. Confession About My Boy Band Obsession | Embracing the Journey
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes – Tori Sinks with the Sun | Just Be V
  27. Gone with the Waves | Artfully Aspiring
  28. It’s In The Lost & Found | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  29. Spring’s here! | Scent of Rina
  30. Haiku X 3 | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  31. Do You Have Silver Ties? | Home’s Cool!
  32. Friends far away | Nagoonberry
  33. House in three photos! | Scrapydodog
  34. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes – Long walks and dark chocolate
  35. The Road Maps of Life | Lifestyle | WANGSGARD
  36. If anybody asks, you didn’t see me. | Trucker Turning Write
  37. Coach Athlete | The Wind Beneath Their Arms
  38. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes~~Sheila’s Poem |
  39. Blue Boredom Tape Men: Battle of the Pepsi graveyard | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  40. Natasha’s Challenge | Mary J Melange
  41. abandoned, broken, and dreaming | memoirs of an unremarkable man
  42. The Simple Pleasures | Outmanned
  43. Iditarod Trail Invitational | pencil me in
  44. Innermission | The Shady Tree
  45. A Tale of Two Worlds | Victoria.K.Gallagher
  46. Seven Icicles, Part One | Stealing All the Sevens
  47. Lady By The Lake — 3 Images /1 Story | eyevpointofview
  48. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes (Skulduggery) | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  49. Writing Challenge | Tania Speaks
  50. This is Why I Talk to Strangers | Your Goofy Girl
  51. Threes: A letter to my baby – Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  52. Threes… Well that’s a triptych to me! « Alison Spedding Photography
  53. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | Thinking Languages!
  54. My Religion is Dirt | the intrinsickness
  55. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | imagination
  56. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | Morrighan’s Muse
  57. The Memory Eater | Really Short Stories
  58. The Waiting Game – Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes. | Romance Writer
  59. Three times Three: When pictures paint a Haiku!!! | D Lonely Stoner
  60. Sand, Sea and … | Tattered Stamp
  61. Weekly Writing Challenge: Haiku In Threes | Mirth and Motivation
  62. He who loved the snow! | imwritinagain
  63. The Blog Farm | Weekly Writing Challenge: Haiku In Threes
  64. The Importance Of A Mother’s Instinct | So I want to be an author…
  65. Silence | Alex Waldegrave
  66. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | The Willows Weeped
  67. Silence – the ‘threes’ photo challenge | Alex Waldegrave
  68. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  69. Variety | linkva
  70. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | Holoholo Girls
  71. capturing sweet nothings
  72. Hard Rain | Funk House Art Garden
  73. Sekreku Rumahku | The Frozen Tears
  74. When “Normal” was Normal | Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept…
  75. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | Chiquitita
  76. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | life n me!
  77. Thanks to Those Who Wrote | Cardinal Guzman
  78. Adventures in Expat Living: Offering the Unexpected in everything from Creativity to Toilet Training | reinventing the event horizon
  79. i am telling you i’m not going | Work in Progress…
  80. Suicide no. 31: S.O.S. | derekalanwilkinson
  81. The Lake at Cwm Symlog calls to me… | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  82. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | alienisme
  83. The Road to Whitney Portal | the intrinsickness
  84. Crazy Little Sister | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  85. The 4th of March 2014 – The Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall, Washington, D.C. | Forgotten Correspondance
  86. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | In my world
  87. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | medicinalmeadows
  88. A whole new world! Or should I say HTML code? | Happy Trails
  89. The Talented Mr Potato | Emovere
  90. One Lump Of Snow, Or Two – Weekly Writing Challenge – Threes | Simply Silent
  91. DP Challenge (Threes): Birth of the Sun | one hundred thousand beats per day
  92. Weekly writing challenge: Threes | Window on my world
  93. Good Things Come in Threes | Life’s Unfiltered Ramblings
  94. Touching the Mirage
  95. Abandoned Buildings in Post-Conflict West Africa | The Human Rights Warrior
  96. Three Homes, Three Years | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
  97. WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE: THREES | Words We Women Write
  98. Why I Don’t Toboggan ~ Weekly Writing Challenge | thisblogisepic
  99. The Spark | This Is My Corn
  100. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | captivated
  101. DP weekly challenge : Three times three | Challenged for Words
  102. Weekly challenge “Threes” : 3 sets, 3 stories, 300 words | Challenged for Words
  103. Weekly Writing Challenge – Threes | Joe’s Musings
  104. Coming Up | Thorough and Unkempt
  105. No one saw the mirage but me | litadoolan
  106. Threes – The Birth of Son #3 | Cancer Isn’t Pink
  107. Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes, 06.03.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
  108. Road to Regionals: Finale | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  109. Three possible explanations for Bird Fascination Syndrome | Carol’s Notes
  110. Little Miracles of Life | 101 Challenges in 1001 Days
  111. Storytelling songwriters | Quod Ero Spero
  112. And Then There Was One | Babsje Heron
  113. God is Three in One | Learn of Me
  114. Weekly Photo Challenge: The third in a series and THREE (S) | V A S T L Y C U R I O U S

11 thoughts on “rain [a small collection of haikus]

  1. I can’t say the third one strikes a chord with me BUT I was stopped dead in my tracks by the first two. Rain brings out some of the most beautiful sides to the world, and you’ve captured it beautifully here.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by! Different poems affect different people, and I’m so glad that the other two impacted you. 😀
      And rain is truly beautiful. Thank you for your kind words. 🙂

  2. Those are such beautiful haikus! I have noooo idea how to write any sort of poetry (nope, not even the 3 lines stuff). And the GIFs are so definitely beautiful. There’s just something about rain and roses…gorgeous!

    • Cait! Thank you so much for stopping by, and also for your kind words. I’m grinning like an idiot right now. The GIFs are so amazing; I find people who make them extremely admirable.

  3. Pingback: Alleppy Trip | Wired With Words

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

