Strange Tales of Living Windows, Goggle Soup and… Criminal Penguins?

Have you ever revisited your previous writing (say, third/fourth grade) and thought, “Aw, this is so cute”? Well, that wasn’t my reaction when I looked back into a folder with my past writing. I was absolutely horrified –with more than the simple grammatical errors that flooded my writing. My topics were absolutely scary, to both read and ponder. It actually frightened me.

In sixth grade, everybody had to create a folder full of writing, and then gift it to someone else. I gave this to my mum and dad, whose initial reaction was, “This kid is weird,” and they started laughing. I didn’t understand it back then, but I do now.

Let me outline the works in this folder of mine:

  1. How to Make Goggle Soup – A procedure to make soup out of swimming goggles
  2. Night of the Living Windows – Flash-fiction written in the style of R.L Stine’s Goosebumps, about windows that come alive and attack the main character.
  3. Pengu the Criminal Penguin – Wanted for escaping from the zoo and is armed with excessive weaponry. Beware of any penguins roaming the streets. Also, there is a large reward (like, with at least 123 zeroes) for anybody who manages to find the penguin.
  4. A Witch’s Point of View – Hansel and Gretel told from the witch’s point of view, who is actually a vegetarian (!) but is a cranky, elderly woman who simply wanted to teach these rascals a lesson. (I actually quite liked this one, because despite the inconsistencies, it was an interesting take of the “villain”)
  5. A poem on a haunted house – It’s filled with skeletons, mommies in closets and spiders creeping here and there. I believe the last line referred to a zombie

That alone is my sixth grade portfolio of writing. It made me laugh, cringe and most strongest of all, they reminded me of my love for writing before I actually began writing for myself.

My third-grade portfolio was more or less the same: a clown who would attack people if they write in capital letters (!), imaginary sea animals in waters and fairies with the same names as my best friends (at that time). I suppose they were more normal than they could’ve been. There was also another story about aliens who invaded the backyard and started painting everything a different colour. Then, my main character (“I” at that time) woke up, relieved it was a dream, but then realised the grass was purple and began to question their sanity. (Twist endings were my favourite.)

—-> A funny story about the “imaginary sea animals in water” —> When I finished my first draft, my teacher absolutely hated it. She said I could do a whole lot better and basically threw it on the floor. Well, a little peeved, I began throwing in every adjective I could think of (think: rainbow-ringed octopus, dolphins with indigo fins), and ended with my main character going to a party. My teacher absolutely loved this, and commended (repeatedly) my vivid and wonderful imagination.

I didn’t have the heart to tell her that, despite the words scribed on paper, I couldn’t imagine any of these things. They were just cold, hard words copied directly from my memory of another book. My lack of imagination followed me throughout, but being able to show people things (regardless of being blind to them myself) always intrigued me.

Maybe that’s why I began writing: to connect with people. Maybe that’s why my stories were so strange: it captured attention from my teachers and peers, and provoked emotions (usually horror or repulse) from the pieces. I loved watching how words could change somebody’s reaction in a matter of seconds… and, so, I kept writing. And I still do.

***

OTHER WRITERLY STORIES:

  1. Secret lives and private stories | Vampire Maman
  2. Writerly Reflections | The Shady Tree
  3. Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflection | Right Brain Rants
  4. Teenage Angst | British Chick Across The Pond
  5. Origins | A picture is worth 1000 words
  6. Let me tell you a story… | Simple Heart Girl
  7. The 16th of December 1953 – Cornish, New Hampshire | Forgotten Correspondence
  8. What drove me to write | Life the world and everything
  9. Reflections for the Weekly Writing Challenge | Greaner Pastures
  10. I write so I won’t drink | until the inkwell dries
  11. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | In my world
  12. Yours Truly: In a Nutshell | Apoplectic Apostrophes
  13. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Holoholo Girls
  14. Reflections on Life, Laughter, and Love | Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept…
  15. That Face in the Mirror | Views Splash!
  16. The Evolution Of My Writing | IvyMosquito
  17. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections, 26.03.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
  18. How’d I Get Here | The Chatter Blog
  19. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections – My Fantasy Reflection | A Note From Jenn
  20. The Artful Process of Self-Discovery | westlifebunny
  21. Origins | Imperfect Happiness
  22. I Just Reached 1000 Followers! | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  23. Lost Sock!! | Forty, c’est Fantastique !
  24. WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE:WRITERLY REFLECTIONS | Chiquitita
  25. Writing For Me | Fickle Feelings
  26. Mad Cat Begins | The Adventures of Cat Madigan
  27. Mr Seah (dotcom!) | Fear (a young writer’s journey)
  28. Reflections on Writing and Mermaids | Mercurial at Midnight
  29. The Birth of a Writer | Sarah’s Typos
  30. Can a 17-year-old write? | love; one step at a time.
  31. The Search for Blue: Writing Reflections | The Silver Leaf Journal
  32. Shel Silverstein, Where Have You Gone? | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  33. Write! (Two Poems) | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  34. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | A Relent to Introspection
  35. My Love For Literature | Thoughts from Elysium
  36. Recording Memories: Blogging Through My Pain | Living with Post Concussion Syndrome
  37. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections; Verity’s Reflections | Just Be V
  38. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Sharon Taylor Writes
  39. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | alienisme
  40. Why I Write. | Caitlyn McConnell
  41. Experimenting With Picture Posts!!!!!! | Blog Title
  42. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Remind Your Mind
  43. Pen…Paper & thoughts… | FREE BIRD
  44. Drawing with My Own Purple Crayon, Keeping it Simple | . . . Furthest Sense
  45. Am I a Writer? « Wind on my Skin
  46. Write from the start | Sue’s Trifles
  47. Letters from the Silence – 28th March, 2014 | Wired With Words
  48. Writing Challenge | I don’t know
  49. Writerly Reflections | 40again’s Blog
  50. My first piece of writing. Aged 9. | Scottish Seaside Living
  51. Peculiar Hack | cateritforward
  52. Writerly Reflections | hello from Sandy
  53. Writerly Reflections | hello from Sandy
  54. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | ☥ Venom’s Blog ☥
  55. Reflections in Puddles | Kate Murray
  56. The past is an open book | Challenge
  57. beginnings | make it happen. maybe?
  58. Origin Story – I Belong in the land of Not Belonging | An Upturned Soul
  59. A 140-characters Mindset | thefauxartist
  60. The Double Life of An Unpaid Writer | A Wild One Within
  61. Weekly writing challenge: Writing because… | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  62. Somewhere Deep Inside | Jenn Lost in Chaos
  63. Midnight madness | Project Momentarily
  64. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections, Manga! | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  65. Through writing, I find my voice | Living in the Moment
  66. Writerly Reflections | The Nameless One
  67. Writerly Reflections | One Educator’s Life
  68. Writing into the Glorious Grey
  69. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | blueskybrightsunshine
  70. This fiction writer’s path: five things learned along the way | Tish Farrell
  71. The writing on the wall | Dreams and landscapes
  72. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  73. Writing Challenge: Why Do I Write? | Miss Diaries
  74. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Awl and Scribe
  75. This is Why I Write | Musings | WANGSGARD
  76. Writerly Life | melissuhhsmiles
  77. Writerly Reflections | emilycharlotteould
  78. Keep On Writing, Everyone | Never Stationary
  79. Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflection | Blessings through raindrops…
  80. Never at a Loss for Words | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  81. Why I Write | Fish Of Gold
  82. Negativity Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  83. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | samallen230
  84. The Beginning | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  85. A Challenge Followed by a Challenge | Kami’s Beautiful Morning
  86. Origin Story: Why I Write | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  87. Why I Write | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  88. Dreaming About My Dream Job | Musings | WANGSGARD
  89. Where it All Began | Passionate Dreaming
  90. My Lifeline | Artfully Aspiring
  91. Ichabod Crane in a 1960s straight legged suite | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  92. Instant Writer: Just Add Library | Charron’s Chatter
  93. (DP Challenge) Life’s Pit Stops: Journal of Becoming a Writer | Jenkins Writings
  94. dear sir or madame would you read my book? | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  95. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | siobhanmcnamara
  96. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | imagination
  97. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  98. Stuck In A Blogging Rut | Eclecticfemale’s Blog
  99. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Morrighan’s Muse
  100. Writing Challenge — Writerly Refections |
  101. Reflection on reading | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  102. DP challenge: Writerly Reflections. | A cup of noodle soup
  103. My Origin Story | Simply Miko
  104. Reponse to- Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | really, villie?
  105. “We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.” —Ernest Hemingway | Chronicles of Illusions
  106. How The Snot People Paved The Way For My Life As a Writer | momaste
  107. Writing Growing Up | Among the Whispers
  108. Writing Challenge: How I became a writer | writingtutortips
  109. Feet in my Shoes, Mary I Am | Mary J Melange
  110. Why write? | fifty5words
  111. Write What You Know | 365 Days of Thank You
  112. My Supergeek Superpower | Abstractions of Life
  113. A Moose and Three Giraffes | Master of Something I’m Yet To Discover
  114. writing is the pits | Musings of a Random Mind
  115. Writerly Reflections | Icezine
  116. writing challenge: reflections | Phylor’s Blog
  117. Falling in Love | Jody Lynne
  118. The Librarian, the Library and the Words | jen groeber: mama art
  119. Why Writers Write | jsleflore
  120. Writerly Reflections | Alexia Jones
  121. Why I Write… | Day to Embrace Change
  122. Writing Sneaks Up, Won’t Go Away | abundance in the boondocks
  123. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | nagwak25
  124. Origins | the little things in life
  125. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | xin’s blog
  126. WRITING CHALLENGE: WRITERLY REFLECTIONS | All I Need Is Pink!
  127. It’s all about the story | Not famous for anything
  128. Bedtime Stories: The Cat Who Wore a Pot On Her Head.” | Destino
  129. Writerly Reflection | Thinking Languages!
  130. writing off the wall | litadoolan
  131. Writerly Reflections: Discovering Poetry | Indigoat Footnote
  132. My Journey As A Writer | The Flibberatic Skreebles
  133. A tale of origins and embarrassing family secrets! | Melissa Barker-Simpson
  134. The day Agatha became my friend | Hope* the happy hugger
  135. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | Rose Red Stories
  136. Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections, rather my first try for this, how I started writing or what made me start in the first place | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  137. I am and I am not | Attempted Human Relations and Self
  138. How Did I Get Here? | the intrinsickness
  139. Throw Back The Pen | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  140. Writerly Reflections | A Life with Limits
  141. “The miseducation of Nicholas Christian: Origin Story” | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  142. A Reader’s Developement | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  143. Adam Ickes | Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections
  144. A come-back post with Writerly Reflections | TALES OF MY JOURNEYS ACROSS OCEANS
  145. Putting Words on Paper in a Particular Order | Fun with Depression
  146. The Writer With Crayons and Oil Pastels | Irish Noble King
  147. Love of Writing | My Adventures In Marriage
  148. Am I a Writer? | Wine goes best with a good book
  149. Weekly Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | SIM | ANTICS
  150. Writing, creating, breathing… | Scent of Rina
  151. Gunga Din and me | The Sapient Chronicles
  152. My 8th Grade Work Is Better Than Any Professional Work I’ve Read | Sammi Talk
  153. My need to write? I blame my mother. | christineespeer
  154. Writing Challenge: I Write Because I was Born into a World of Words | theempathyqueen
  155. A Puzzle, Piece By Piece | Polymathically
  156. Writing Process Blog Tour: Little Victories | Be Less Amazing
  157. Barsoom | luvsiesous
  158. A writer of tales | Thin spiral notebook
  159. It all started with a fish! | 1,000 Photos of my Life
  160. My Sister and The Famous Five – Evelyne Holingue
  161. Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth….Chances | Searching for Substance
  162. Urban Bookworm, Secret Wordsmith | Laughing Through Life
  163. Writing Challenge: Reflections | The Day After
  164. How I Got My Superpowers | The Adventures of Cat Madigan
  165. DPChallenge: What got me started | xzxJennaxzx
  166. Writerly Reflections | Bako Heat
  167. When the Verbal and Visual Unite, an Expat Writer is Reborn | reinventing the event horizon
  168. I write because I MUST: Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  169. Why I Write | Huckleberry Moments
  170. Resurrection | In So Many Words
  171. It’s Kind of a Long Story | Corned Beef Hashtag
10 thoughts on “Strange Tales of Living Windows, Goggle Soup and… Criminal Penguins?

  1. This is a brilliant celebration of young imagination. I agree with your excellent point, it’s great news it turns into the spark behind writing as an adult. I love the idea of goggle soup! Surreal and fascinating.

  2. Thanks for the pingback – it led me here.

    I love the idea of goggle soup (I read it as Google soup first time, just shows you…)
    and I think ‘A Witch’s Point of View’ is a great storyline.

    Lovely to meet you, will now be following your blog.

    Dee

    • Dee,
      Thank you so much for stopping by! And, in the 21st century, so many words are usually misread the first time around. 😉
      And thank you! Your blog is really lovely –I’m following you too! 😀

    • Really?! I used to love Wallace and Gromit when I was younger, but I never watched anything with a killer penguin… at least, not from what I can recall. 😛
      But thank you for the insight! 🙂

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

