A Tragic Song Parody (In More Ways than One)

It’s actually harder to write song lyrics than I initially thought; especially when the tune has already been established. Plus, you need some sort of rhyming scheme –no matter how loosely implemented– to properly construct an actual song. Even when you’re writing parodies, you need to watch your tone and rhythm.

The song I’ve chosen to parody is Justin’s Bieber’s infamous, Baby. Although there are more verses to this same song, I’m afraid there’s only so many seconds I can waste listening to it. I don’t necessarily hate it, but I’m listening to Tee-Shirt by Birdy on repeat. It’s so beautiful.

Anyway, enjoy! I’ve tried to reconstruct the lyrics so it’s more melancholic/dark… basically, the complete  opposite of the original song. 😉

Do you remember
The stars we shared
When the world collapsed and
we were there

Defeated alone
Firing stones
At our hearts that cannot
Ever mend alone

CHORUS:

And we declared
“Freedom is our saviour
Oh, don’t you let us live
With little else to spare
Freedom is our saviour
Or
Let us die here alone.”

 

OTHER RESPONSES TO THIS QUESTION:

  1. The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  2. To the Tune Of…
  3. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  4. “Whine Like a Beagle”
  5. Bumblepuppies
  6. Edward Snowden Insults My Intelligence
  7. Suzie81 Speaks
  8. Me Grandfather’s Clock.
  9. Mad Meandering Me
  10. Weekly Writing Challenge: To the Tune of…
  11. Jackie’s Travels
  12. Shit
  13. A beetle with earrings
  14. Is there something on the road?
  15. New Teacher Life
  16. because I teach it
  17. eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  18. do you want to use some secret?
  19. Haiverer
  20. To the Tune Of…
  21. Among the Whispers
  22. Happy
  23. Deep in the Heart of Textiles
  24. From the Top!
  25. MARGARET-ROSE STRINGER
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge: To the tune of …
  27. Meaningful Mommy
  28. New Words to an Old Song (Bingo personalized)
  29. Ditch the Bun
  30. “Man! I Feel Like A Tooheys!”
  31. I don’t want to exist. I want to live.
  32. The Insomniac Song (to the tune of “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing”)
  33. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  34. Smokey’s woofing happy blues?
  35. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  36. What’s Up Pussycat?
  37. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  38. What a fool believes
  39. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  40. New weekly Challenge
  41. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  42. Awesome Kitty Strikes again!
  43. Spank !
  44. Fat Bottomed Girl
  45. A Maniac’s Menagerie of Motley Thoughts
  46. Tik Tok, Harry Potter…
  47. asnappshot
  48. weekly Writing Challenge: Jack and Jill the whole story
  49. Creo Somnium
  50. The Jealous Dog song
  51. Moondustwriter’s Blog
  52. To the Tune of…. #dpchallenge #poetry #lyrics
  53. chey being
  54. Forever here.
  55. Jesus, Beer, and My Tiny Kitchen
  56. Brother’s Gaga
  57. Once Upon Your Prime. . .
  58. A Parody with Pecularity and a Little Familiarity!
  59. marsowords
  60. A commuter’s lyric of favorite things
  61. SoundEagle
  62. SoundEagle’s Poetry with Enigma’s Goodbye Milky Way
  63. The Days and Nights of KashmirGirl1976
  64. At Last Parody (in the key of aspiring/new writers)
  65. marsowords
  66. A Mirror’s “I Feel Pretty” Turn Around Reflection
  67. Midlife Crisis Crossover
  68. “Breakfast Supper Nights”: a Tribute to EXTRA Breakfast for Dinner
  69. A Moaner’s Parody of “Let it Go”
  70. “Long Ago”
  71. Drew Llew’s Views
  72. Mermaid’s tresses
  73. Our national delicacy
  74. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  75. Follow my Lead
  76. Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  77. Cheap (Parody of Radiohead’s Creep)
  78. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  79. Start spreading the News
  80. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  81. Let sleeping storms lie
  82. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  83. You’re a Star
  84. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  85. Inspiration
  86. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and Inspiration
  87. When Shadows come a creeping
  88. Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  89. All She Wants To Do Is Work
  90. Bumblepuppies
  91. Cats Insult My Intelligence
  92. THE BORDERLINE PERSONALITY BLISS AND MESS
  93. Do not clap along!
9 thoughts on “A Tragic Song Parody (In More Ways than One)

  1. Pingback: Brogue! | litadoolan

    • Soumya! Your comment made me laugh so much. I’m sure even singing the song will physically injure some poor souls. You’re a brilliant sadist; well done. 😉 I aspire to be as great as you. ^_^

      • I have a great sense of humour. (Imagine I am saying that with a very narcissistic hair flick)
        Thank you for the praise. Though I am not sure whether to taken that as a insult or a boast. Oh well, the latter should do! And I am going to post my first (well empirically speaking, it should be the second) blog very, very soon so stay tuned!

  2. Love the cute as photo up the top. I have to confess that when I saw the pingback and the title you had for this post I feared you had ripped my attempt a new one hahahaha. Nice work 🙂

  3. Pingback: Might as well get back to work | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

