An Unfinished Melody (Piano Cover of “Sleepless Beauty” by Ryuichi Sakuma)

When you say the word “unfinished,” I immediately think music. This thought leads to another –namely, my keyboard (or piano)– and I immediately reflect on my unfinished recitation of Sleepless Beauty, one of my favourite instrumentals of all time. Although I’ve never seriously studied music, I picked up a couple of my favourite songs off YouTube.

Yes, I play too fast. Yes, I made a couple of mistakes in that recording because I was nervous (!) even though I was recording it without a tangible audience. Yes, I haven’t entirely learnt the song. Oh, and yes, I am a complete hobbyist when it comes to the piano. I play with enthusiasm rather than striving for perfection.

But it’s just so fun. Quite frankly, I love it.

That’s how much of this song I can play. At this moment in time, it remains unfinished (or leftover). I fully intend on learning the rest of it, but lately, I’ve been distracted by pictures of cute little rabbits endless piles of school work. But one day, I will learn the rest of it with a mountain of vigour.

In all honesty, I sometimes wish I studied music at a higher level. Reading sheet music would be an amazing skill to have, and would make me less memory-dependent. As I’m using an unconventional method of learning, I rely heavily on my visual senses, and therefore have trouble adapting to different pianos/keyboards other than mine (because they don’t have the same texture, have different key-pressures, etc.)

But just thinking about pianos makes me nostalgic. I have a whole history, a bucketful of memories and a lifetime of love dedicated to the instrument. Why not share them?

When I was 5, Mum bought a $2 plastic piano from a local gift shop. It was extremely cheap, but worked exactly like a piano did. I don’t entirely remember much of what happened, but I picked up Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star by ear. My parents, who are the most UN-artistic people you’ll ever meet (see also: For the Love of Literature), thought I had a musical talent sent from the heavens above (I don’t), and when I was ten, my birthday present was a keyboard.

Of course, I had no idea how to play. Most of what I learnt was from translating sheet music to simple notes, before I realised I had a better outlet of learning: YouTube videos. I fell in love (and was inspired) by Horsegirl15’s amazing piano covers, and somehow managed to learn a couple of mainstream songs from her wonderful blog.

The hardest part ever, I think, was when I learnt Paparazzi by Lady Gaga (a song I don’t care for now, but adored previously), and had to use chords to harmonise my right-hand-playing. It took me an entire week to find the balance. But after that initial step, every other song with solid, routine chords came naturally. Here’s the thing: once you learn a song of a kind, every other song of the same kind takes significantly less time. 

Somehow, I managed to muster enough confidence to play in my 6th grade talent show (playing “Love Story” by Taylor Swift, another song I don’t care for now), and Back in 7th grade, I played the piano at the school talent show, and made more mistakes than anyone can endure. There were two performances I participated in –solo and group– and for the group, I played “Love Story” while two friends sang. The number of mistakes I made were embarrassing, especially when my group shot me looks after yet another misplaced key, but we somehow managed to score second place. Their singing was terrific, so it wasn’t much of a surprise.

My solo, on the other hand, was free from mistakes. I played the oh-so-famous My Heart Will Go On by Celine Dion, and was an altogether better reflection of my piano abilities, but other competitors were better. For this reason, I finished the first round only.  To be honest, I didn’t mind: I didn’t know any other songs (!) so learning a new one would be kind of drastic. I was known as “piano girl” by all the adorable little preps (who watched me play). It was just… really fun.

Since this is mainly a musical post, I’ll just include that I recently purchased a guitar… before returning it a week later, realising how difficult it actually was. Tuning the guitar, learning to use frets, the chords, the strumming patterns; there’s only so much coordination I can endure. No, thank you. Piano’s more for me (or rather, keyboard, where everything’s electronically run).

I don’t think I’ll ever learn to play the piano properly. My timing will always be off, I will stare at sheet music like it’s a foreign language, but it won’t stop me from loving it (and the large impact it has on my life). In fact, my love for the piano inspires me to discover new piano music frequently. It has also altered my music tastes, but in a good way.

Although I’ve mentioned this through the post, I’ll say it again: it’s just really, really fun. I highly encourage anyone who’s looking for an instrument to play to consider the piano. It’s absolutely wonderful.

***

OTHER LOVELY LEFTOVERS:

  1. From Balderdash To Epiphany.
  2. Left Over From Leftovers
  3. The Difference Between Nobles and Serfs |
  4. The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  5. Leftovers
  6. Snow’s Fissures and Fractures
  7. Stars Will Bring Me Home
  8. EW Brown
  9. The Daily Post Challenge – Leftovers…
  10. Thoughts
  11. Nostalgia
  12. Bumblepuppies
  13. Dead Food Insults My Intelligence
  14. Never Nothing Going On
  15. Greatest Hits… So Far
  16. My [redacted] Journey
  17. Memento Mori
  18. locommotion
  19. Locomotion
  20. Faces of New Eden
  21. YogunPoetry
  22. Ski to Log
  23. The Finicky Cynic
  24. Leftovers: The Daily Post Challenge
  25. genusrosa
  26. No Ordinary Doll Head
  27. Writing Prompts for Rookie Writers
  28. Today’s post is from The Leftovers
  29. risingrave28
  30. The Last Swan
  31. The Daily Noesis
  32. Piano Blues: where is the romance?
  33. Wanna Be Uncool
  34. An Ode to My Skinny Jeans
  35. Musings From My Id
  36. Leftovers
  37. Creating Christine
  38. Holy (Steam) Rollers & Other Corporate Villains
  39. Meaningful Mommy
  40. Painting a metal file cabinet or not…
  41. Speaking Voiceless
  42. Leftovers
  43. Put a spring in your step!
  44. Are you embracing your inner wolf man?
  45. Southern California Homeschool Coupon Mom
  46. The High School Box
  47. The Butterfly Theorem
  48. Disko from the Past
  49. Short…but not always so sweet
  50. Maggie
  51. SERENDIPITY
  52. A PIANO BY THE WINDOW
  53. Short…but not always so sweet
  54. Maggie (Weekly Writing Challenge)
  55. asterretha d.
  56. asterretha d.
  57. ace of clover
  58. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  59. Intro. to Lit. 7 days left(over)
  60. Ethiopian Mama in Australia
  61. The Synthesizer
  62. Never Nothing Going On
  63. Greatest Hits… So Far (Part 2)
  64. The Happy Lifeaholic
  65. Reminiscing
  66. Mad Meandering Me
  67. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leftovers
  68. yi-ching lin photography
  69. yellow
  70. y
  71. a flash of something
  72. Mad Meandering Me
  73. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leftovers – ‘Aftermath’
  74. Miscellaneous thoughts
  75. Daily Prompt : Emotional ‘Leftovers’
  76. Rolbos ©
  77. The Man, Breathless…
  78. Scribblings of a Wandering Mind
  79. From an Old Friend
  80. A picture’s worth 1000 words
  81. One Fine Day
  82. My Life Story
  83. Re: Leftovers
  84. Teachers Pondering
  85. The Daily Post Writing Challenge: Leftovers
  86. The Daily Post
  87. Leftovers
  88. A little bit of this and that …
  89. Leftovers
  90. Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  91. Weekly Writing Challenge: Leftovers – How it all began
  92. chey being
  93. A life in letters.
  94. Go ask Alisa
  95. My journey leftovers
  96. knowinghowblog
  97. Still Useful
  98. Cook & Librarian
  99. Have Elephant, Will Travel
  100. Half and Half
  101. Proud Member of The Clean Plate Club
  102. The Salt
  103. Leftovers
  104. field of thorns
  105. Ash
  106. Never Nothing Going On
  107. People ask, I “answer”
  108. Master of Something I’m Yet To Discover
  109. A Jack of All Leftovers
  110. Traveling Seeds
  111. Collecting Dust (though maaaybe not forever…)
  112. Mary J Melange
  113. Leftovers from a Camera
  114. A+ Cafe
  115. Do Not Return to Sender
  116. jen groeber: mama art
  117. The Things We Give Away (The Things We Save)
  118. linda nguyen.
  119. Waste of Space
  120. yi-ching lin photography
  121. frame-of-mind
  122. y
  123. nearer the end, the sun
  124. aNadventures
  125. Leftovers
  126. Random Musings
  127. Please let this never show up on YouTube!
  128. Ana Linden
  129. The Typewriter (Weekly Writing Challenge)
  130. Life’s Unfiltered Ramblings
  131. Leftover Thoughts
  132. Mostly True Stories of K. Renae P.
  133. Questions Answered by Twitter
  134. The Daily Doodles of a Doolally Doodler
  135. Cakes from the Unknown – Daily Post – Left Overs…
  136. OSuzyQuilts, Free-motion Quilting and Meanderings
  137. Beanie Babies for free
  138. Coded Transmissions
  139. Leftovers: Weekly Writing Challenge
  140. Meowing Happily
  141. Writing Challenge: Leftovers
  142. theimaginariumofkitti’s Blog
  143. O is for Orgasm
  144. My Own Champion
  145. Stuck on Stupid
  146. yi-ching lin photography
  147. convergence
  148. Whoknowsy
  149. My mum’s boomerang – it’s all coming back to me now
  150. Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  151. Purgatory Of Verse
  152. Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  153. A Fashion Victim’s Circle of Life
  154. myreflectionsblog
  155. Leftovers – Memories Revisited
  156. K R Jefferson
  157. Recrudescence, Romanticism and then Reality.
  158. Emovere
  159. Past Remembrance
  160. asnappshot
  161. Leftovers
  162. Leftovers
  163. The Crumpett Files
  164. Pigspittle, Ohio
  165. What we do for the Dead
  166. The Seeker’s Dungeon
  167. The Hearts of Men
  168. A Wilderness of Words
  169. Tap shoes, dreams, and dust
  170. Legends of Lorata
  171. The Box from a Lost Age
  172. helen meikle’s scribblefest
  173. Messages from the gods
  174. KHANH HOA
  175. LEFTOVERS: A FORGOTTEN DREAM
  176. Life. In Light Of Eternity.
  177. Refuse to let the dust settle
  178. yi-ching lin photography
  179. ingredients
  180. Life. In Light Of Eternity.
  181. Damaged goods
  182. Memoirs of a Mild Melodramatic
  183. Lovely Leftovers
  184. Hawaiian Supermom
  185. B I T C H
  186. intrinsickness
  187. The Book Hoarder
  188. Sibs |
  189. weebeebird
  190. your original facebook
  191. Adventures in Single Motherhood
  192. The end of an era
  193. rudranarayanh’s Blog
  194. Leftover
  195. Wendy Vitols
  196. Pink Ted and Dust Bunnies
  197. The Writing Hut
  198. I remember you well
  199. jenny’s lark
  200. Tales of 4th grade everything.
  201. yi-ching lin photography
  202. sand
21 thoughts on “An Unfinished Melody (Piano Cover of “Sleepless Beauty” by Ryuichi Sakuma)

  1. Hey i think you accidentally linked to my post with the title leftover. I feel so honoured to be linked with such beautiful melody. If you don’t mind, i would love for this wonderful mistake to be kept that way. You can also check out my post too! 😉 ❤

    • Hello there! 😀 What I usually try to do is link to other posts (pingback) on the Daily Post. I’ve noticed through my stats that tons of other bloggers get discovered through this, and it feels like I’m helping the community. ^_^ (So it wasn’t an accident)
      But your blog is amazing! I’m following; can’t wait for your daily blogging to begin. I love the themes you have chosen. 😀

      • Omg thank you so much I am so happy that I got linked. 😉 Now I got to know your blog too! I will listen to your music later in the night. Cheers to new friendship? ❤

      • That sounds amazing! 😀
        I would love to see that on your blog (a cover of a song on your ukulele?)
        Of course! If you look to the side of my blog, you’ll see a pink envelope icon (under “Find me!”). Just click it and it should link you to my email address with “mailto” at the front. 😀

  2. Pingback: Flower Power | litadoolan

  3. I love how you played it and how you are persistent at playing piano even though you’re not schooled. I have a guitar, since 5th grade, went on a couple of lessons but I haven’t touched it since then and I lost the notebook I had everything written in. This actually encouraged me to get back to my guitar. I say that every year but I just can’t find the time and patience to do so. Anyways, keep it up and enjoy playing it:)

  4. I feel so identified with this! Seriously, because the very same thing happen to me too. Well, it’s even sadder considering I used to know how to read music (I played the flute when I was in fifth/sixth grade) but, when we stopped having music classes, I never continued studying or anything. Whenever I think about it, it kind of frustrates me.
    (As I was saying before I started rambling,) I feel identified because I also use my extremely limited memory to play the piano (plus, I am terrible with my left hand, so it gets quite difficult to learn new songs. I never get the timing right :p). At first I only got to play it when I went to visit my relatives (who, by the way, live four hours away from me -so, as you can tell, I didn’t get to play much…) but, as I’ve always loved playing the piano, my parents decided to get one for me (and my mother) last year and now I’ve been practicing whenever I’ve got the time! I’m so happy!
    I’ve even tried (re-)learning to read music sheets and all, but it just didn’t work out. But, as I really love this instrument (I’m also in love with the violin), I just couldn’t give up and so I constantly practice and try learning new songs. My dream is to play River Flows In You by Yiruma. And Kiss The Rain. I love both of them, but find them really difficult…
    By the way, I don’t know if you know but there’s a computer program which gets pretty handy if you don’t know how to read music (it’s useful even if you do, because it can also show the music sheet, oh well). Maybe you already know it but it’s called Synthesia 🙂 If you have the correct wire, you can even plug your computer/laptop into your keyboard and it’s even easier. Here is an example of how it works (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F06WHkFfQiM –> I’m currently learning that one :D)
    This is getting as long as an essay (lol), so that’s it. I just wanted to share how much I understand that feeling.

    • Thank you so much for the long comment! I’m so happy that you’ve identified; it’s one of the most rewarding experiences of writing blog posts. I loved reading about your musical background and experiences with the piano and the flute.
      Funny thing: The River Flows in You is one of the very few songs I can play. And, I agree, it was so difficult! It took me a whole two weeks of consistent practice to understand the “broken chord” aspect of my left hand; my syncing sucks. 😛 At this moment, I’m looking into learning Moonlight by Yiruma (another of my favourite songs). Kiss the Rain is beautiful! ❤
      Synthesia! A piano friend of mine introduced me to it, and it was the most helpful thing ever. Although sometimes it's hard to see WHICH finger goes on which key, so I tend to lean towards YouTube videos. But thank you for the link –I never heard Memory before, and it's beautiful. 😀

      • I personally believe that sometimes I tend to write too much though -but if you don’t mind, then me neither! Oh, thanks. I’ve never really shared them before.
        No way, really?! That’s splendid! I’m so envious right now! Yes, I can’t figure it out -yet; I definitely will someday! I’m not going to lose 😛 My syncing sucks too haha! Moonlight is beautiful too. It calms your mind and soul. It’s really peaceful.
        Haha, that’s really true. I try figuring that by myself but, when I can’t, I ask my mother for help as she studied piano since she was 3 years old (awesome, right?). I confess sometimes I learn songs by ear too.
        Ah! Actually, that might be because it is the theme song for a horror RPG game. Most of its OST/BGMs are like that one and I really enjoy listening to them 🙂

        PS. And sorry again for taking almost a year to reply to your other comment!

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

