Simply Sunday (#5)

simply-sunday-final1

Simply Sunday is a reading meme run here at Books for a Delicate Eternity. It’s where you can share your favourite quote of the week; be it from a book, a novella, a short story, a poem, a song – whatever you like!

When I first read Mitch Albom’s memoir, Tuesdays with Morrie, I fell in love with its profound words of wisdom. However, I never quite understood it; back in eighth grade, it was a collection of inspirational words –that is all. Three years later, I encounter these same words with new experiences, new perception and understanding. Now, I understand the importance of these words and life lessons.

If you hold back on the emotions–if you don’t allow yourself to go all the way through them–you can never get to being detached, you’re too busy being afraid. You’re afraid of the pain, you’re afraid of the grief. You’re afraid of the vulnerability that loving entails. But by throwing yourself into these emotions, by allowing yourself to dive in, all the way, over your head even, you experience them fully and completely.

Tuesdays with Morrie, by Mitch Albom

It seems that, with every passing year, I deem it my favourite. At the end of 2013, I claimed it the best year of my life. Now, 2014 is my favourite — my life continuously  gets better with time (what a beautiful realisation). Although the year hasn’t yet ended, it’s inevitably my favourite, for I’ve generally involved myself with my surroundings. For the first time, feeling out-of-place, lost or trapped isn’t present.

But the main reason behind 2014’s success revolves a newfound control over emotions. I met my current best friend this year –a girl I knew last year, but merely superficially– who’ve changed my life. I never reveal darker parts of my past, but our shockingly similar experiences leads me to confide in her, telling her intricate details I buried. Last year, this would be a fantasy: finding someone I trust to expose secrets to without fear. Now, it’s a reality.

This year, I learnt to trust people; to be vulnerable. And I also learned how to love unconditionally. Like Morrie says, fear hinders us, and these intense feelings, if half-felt, can torment our psychology and emotions to darker depths. Experience them. Embrace them. Allow yourself to stop idolizing emotional detachment. Most importantly, don’t write off emotions as unimportant or petty. If something ignites a spark in you, no matter how small, it’s worth investigating.

Growing up, I viewed emotions as weakness; it’s a moral enforced by my parents on both themselves and me. Although I adore them and trust their judgement on most matters, they are wrong –astoundingly so.

Grieve over “little” things. Feel envy. Feel hate completely. Allow yourself to be angry. Get caught up in your emotions; feel them. Don’t allow anyone else dictate how to feel, and to what extent these emotions are acceptable. Let yourself go.

Most of all, love. I was always under the false impression that love without reciprocation is worthless; I was wrong. Loving unconditionally will keep you happy. It’s how you attain complete freedom. When you love, you forget to feel fear, pain and many negative emotions.

Last thing: I love you should not be undermined, nor used in vanity. If you love or like someone, tell them. Ignore the fear of rejection and the tremendous amount of courage needed to place yourself in a vulnerable position. Truthfully, nothing is permanent. As fearful as confessing such strong emotions is, a greater darkness (in my opinion) lies in the possibility they will never know.

Tuesdays with Morrie is a beautiful, heartbreaking and wise book. Although I don’t generally reread books, this one is deserving.

8 thoughts on “Simply Sunday (#5)

  1. I adore that book! And thank you for the post; I’m one of those people who is intensely afraid of emotions, and I’m trying to change that. Unfortunately every time I try I end up hurt and everyone else involved ends up perfectly happy without me… But this post inspired to me to try for at least a little bit longer. Thanks again, and have a wonderful day!
    Campion

    • Campion, thank you so much for stopping by.
      You are not alone. Often, we put ourselves in a vulnerable position, only to find ourselves hurt in the process.
      There is a condition: never be vulnerable to someone who doesn’t deserve it. You can love all, but trust is another matter in itself; by being vulnerable to someone, you are acknowledging they have power over you, but trusting they will not abuse it.
      That said, it’s so strange how emotions, something that makes us vulnerable, is also what makes us strongest if properly addressed. Lifelong, meaningful relationships are born and nurtured through emotions –but they have to be a two-way road. Otherwise, it’s simply hurtful. 🙂

      • No problem!
        Thank you for the advice and words of encouragement! I really appreciate it, and will keep it in mind in the future! 🙂

        P.S. I really like your blog. Like the header is awesome, and the butterfly design is super cute and the whole thing just kind of makes me feel happy 😀 just so you know 😉

      • You are so welcome. ❤
        Thank you for considering them. 🙂

        Aww, thank you for your kind comment on my blog's design. I'd be honored to make you a theme also –I can make it a project! 😀

        If you're interested, of course. Please feel free to say no. 🙂

      • You’re welcome 🙂

        Would you really do that?!? That would be incredible! If you have time to make me a theme I would be thrilled! 😀 ❤ But if it's too much work don't worry about it. Thanks so much though! Goodness that would be so awesome!

        Gosh how are you such a nice person? =)

      • Aww, of course I will. ❤
        A quick form for you to fill out:
        Colour scheme (choose up to 3 complementary colours):
        Mood (eg. cute/sweet/colourful, etc –choose a couple of keywords):
        Any favourite objects:
        Title of header:
        Byline:
        SIZE:
        Header: (in pixels):
        Ooh, this is very important –do you have any other blogs that replicate the idea of the theme you desire? 🙂 If so, please link me to some of them, or a couple. 😀

        I'll start on these at the end of next week (6 more block exams to go, woo!) 😛

      • Ok, a few questions (just to make sure I’m doing this right XD)

        What do you mean by complementary colors? Is that like purple and yellow and green and red?
        What is a byline? Is it like the subheading?
        I’m not sure how to figure out the size. Sorry, I’m really not very good at navigating blogs and such =( Any tips?

        Thanks, and good luck with your exams! =D

Leave a comment! They make my day. ♥

